VoiceEclipse Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoiceEclipse (2.8)
23 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

VoiceEclipse Overview

VoiceEclipse is a provider of residential broadband phone service. The company currently offers two plans for prospective customers to choose from. There is a basic plan that includes 500 minutes of local and long distance calling every month, and then charges a 3.5c per minute usage fee after the 500 minutes are used up. An alternative to this is the premium plus plan that comes with unlimited calling minutes, two phone numbers, two phone lines and an Internet fax type service. The phone adapter that is required to enable VoIP service is provided free of charge on a lease basis and is a Linksys PAP2 model which is no longer supported by the manufacturer.

Both plans have fewer features when compared to other residential providers and the prices are also higher. The service plans are better alternatives than a traditional phone service although the feature set is similar. It is worth comparing the VoiceEclipse plans to other VoIP providers, as you will find more features at lower prices.

Let us know if you agree or disagree with the VoiceEclipse reviews below by adding your own review.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 3)

Total Number 23 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 3
Thumbs Down 20 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 8
More Providers 1 Star 2

VoiceEclipse reviews are listed in chronological order.

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (2.3)

#23 : MAR 28th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

VoiceEclipse was my first VOIP provider and provided good service and great features for a reasonable price for several years. At the time they were owned by Starnet and you could get two lines for $30, with fax-to-email on both of them. That's what attracted me. Then Starnet was bought by PAETECH, then PAETECH was bought by Windstream. Each acquisition brought problems. VoiceEclipse is now such a small part of Windstream that nobody cares about it. It's worthless. Worst customer service ever. Nobody at Windstream even knows they exist. Customer support just sends you to a call center to open up support ticket after ticket after ticket... and nothing ever gets fixed. Sound is now bad. Problems abound - some calls get through, others don't. After months of complaining and trying to back door them I finally got them to send me a new box... which doesn't work. My efforts to actually get connected to someone other than a phone bank operator to open up yet another ticket resulted in said operator hanging up on me. This is the now the worst company I have ever dealt with. Windstream... you're awful. Go to hell. I'm switching to Voipo. My wife loves them and they give her impeccable service. Goodbye forever VoiceEclipse.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#22 : JUN 7th, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had Voice Eclipse for the past 4 years, I have watched as their service and tech support have gone down the tubes. Basically they do not have tech support. You call someone who writes up a ticket with your porblem and tells you that someone will be in touch with you in one hour. NEVER HAPPENS! You do get an email with some canned FAQ which does you no good. If you respond to their email as I have asking for someone to acually call you. FORGET IT! I have been dealing with this service. rebooting and fixing it as best I could myself for too long. I am now working from home and dealing a great deal on the phone. I cannot continue to use this phone service. Most of the people I am talking to have now come to expect my line to be nothing short of annoying. Which, by association, makes me annoying to deal with. At first they thought it just must be a bad line but after frequent bad lines they have come to realize it is my lines. I went with Voice Eclipse becuase I needed two lines but now I have come to realize, from a business standpoint this is the worst move I have ever made. I am switching service ASAP.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (2.1)

#21 : FEB 2nd, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had VoiceEclipse for over three years. They have horrible customer service and their technical service is just the same. They have a answering service who takes your information and routes tickets to departments. They never followup on tickets and often leave you in the dark without service. Their ATA is a piece-o-crap and had to reboot it several times to get a decent dial tone and call quality. They may be the cheapest bang for your dollar but readers, be warned, you end up getting what you pay for. I have been very patient with their customer support and technical support. I can no longer deal with them and have decided to move on to another carrier.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (3.7)

#20 : JAN 10th, 2009 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The ordering and setup was very easy. However, issues began almost immediately. I turned in the number port ppw upon signup. After repeated requests as to how long the port would take, each time support gave me another answer. Finally after 9 months, they told me that their provider was delayed and they had "no idea" when the port would take place. They actually suggested that if porting was my main concern, I should look for another provider. If you want your number ported, I wouldn't rely on Voice Eclipse to get it done in a timely manner. After 9 months, I went to Lingo. Number was ported to Lingo in 3 days. Voice Eclipse's features are great. The fax to email is great. Having 2 lines is great and choosing your phone number is also great. My other complaint is that you cannot talk to anyone for any issues. You have to talk to an answering service for support to get a ticket opened. That service says someone will call you back, but they never do. They email you back only. Most of the time you need to respond to the emails to keep the dialog open. However, if support does not feel like writing back, they will close the ticket whether your issue is resolved or not. The only way I got a call back from anyone was when I reported an outage. Someone called me back within minutes of that report. I would not recommend this service to anyone. This company's idea of support is less than stellar. If you are with VE, run away as fast as possible. You get what you pay for.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (1)

#19 : OCT 21st, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had Voice Eclipse since they opened, they are a horrible company to deal with. I use the VoIP sparingly because I also have a landline but when there is an issue it takes several days to resolve. For example, I have been waiting since last Thursday and today is Monday for someone to call me back. Their third-party call center always says they will call back within the hour, yeah right! So I sent emails to info, sales, billing, tech support, no one chose to call back. I know the price looks good but if you have this much problems as I and many others and your planning to use it as your main number your better off really with another company even if you have to pay more. The compression codecs they use are outdated and many times it sounds like your talking on a walkie talkie or on a cell phone with really bad signal range. I had my internet connection checked 3 times and it's not that, it's Voice Eclipse. Save you and whoever calls you the frustration, DON'T use voice eclipse. I have been very patient especially since they were a new company but this is ridiculous they should have most of the kinks worked out by now. Also, the positive reviews are from the company itself, it only shows a lack of character and integrity when they continue to do this, it's the same message just modified a little different every few months.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (1.9)

#18 : AUG 30th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Worst 6 months of HELL I had with this company never could get anyone to answer a phone was on hold for 7 hours one day and still no one answered only music on hold have called at least 10 times a day and no answer no mater what time of day or night it was, Static on line 80% of the time dropped calls always in the middle of a 10 minute call __Disconnect had to call back and the same problem all over again this went on constantly had to use my cell phone for most long distant calls. The worst Nightmare I had was with Billing they had no set date to bill my credit card whenever it blew there skirt up one month on the 18th. the next month on the 10th. the next month on the 27 my credit card was like a YOYO then sometimes they would charge me twice in one month. I finally went back to Vonage its better to pay a little more and get great service they cut cost and get screwed with a company like VE. Had to call the PUC about 2 Dozen times but did no good. I'm glad I'm off that terrible service. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (3.3)

#17 : APR 29th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Their customer service is terrible. If you need help they have an answering service that takes your call and opens a "trouble ticket" for you. You then have to wait for someone in customer service to call you back, if they do.

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#16 : JUN 7th, 2007 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Were ok then were bought by Patec. Customer service completely stopped!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#15 : JUN 7th, 2007 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Ever since they were purchased by PAETEC in 2/07, CUSTOMER SERVICE is NON-EXISTENT!!!

Comment on this review >>

VoiceEclipse Review

Overall rating (3.3)

#14 : MAY 28th, 2007 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am Siahbon and if you scroll down, you will see that about a year ago, I was sold on Voice Eclipse. Today, I believe it is one of the worst companies I have ever done business with. I recently canceled my phone service due to a billing problem and no customer support. My bill on line said $37 and $49 was deducted from my checking account. I tried many times to contact the company by phone and email and got not response. On four separate occasions, I was on hold for 15 to 20 minutes and had my phone call escalated to voicemail with the promise that someone would return my call, but there was never a return call. I followed up with two emails, and still, no one responded to my billing issue. I got a hold of the new parent company and was given a phone number to someone in sales. I left two messages, and still no return call. I called the parent company again and demanded to speak with someone, and requested I not be transferred until he had someone on the phone for me. I finally spoke with a Voice Eclipse representative who informed me that they are short staffed. He couldn't explain my billing issue and requested that I fax a copy of the bill to him and they will issue the necessary credit. I advised him that I would. The next day, I attempted to get a copy of the bill from my on line account to fax to him, and was surprised to learn that my password didn?t work any longer. I couldn?t access my account. I soon realized that they changed my online password. I couldn't believe it. I phoned and left a message that if no one calls me, I will cancel my account. As expected, no one returned my phone call. I was able to find the printed copy a few hours later and faxed it, but as I expected, nothing was done. I was left with no choice to send an email canceling my account. I received an email the following day stating my account was canceled per my request. This company provided the best pricing for VOIP on the net and it is so sad to see how irresponsible they are in handling their customers. Until they bounce back to a level of professionalism, I would NOT recommend them to my dog.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 23 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 3
Thumbs Down 20 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 8
More Providers 1 Star 2

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: