Teleblend Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Teleblend (2.9)
53 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 53 User submitted reviews >>

Teleblend Review by WhichVoIP

The VoIP industry is a very competitive place and it should come as no surprise that not all who enter will see success. A VoIP company known as SunRocket failed sometime in late 2007 and TeleBlend picked up the pieces, eventually re-opening doors to existing and new customers in early 2008. Fortunately, the business formula seems to work as the company has been providing low cost residential service to the US and some of Canada, ever since.

The Good

The core services offered by TeleBlend are designed to provide low cost calling options for residential customers. It provides a free, portable phone adapter (known as an ATA) to use with an analog phone and can be used anywhere a high-speed internet connection is available.

Pricing has a simple structure with "month-to-month" rates available or customers may seize the opportunity to purchase service at reduced annual rates. Always make sure to read the details of any pricing structure thoroughly or attempt to contact customer service if unsure.

The two monthly plans differ slightly in price, though each offer the same amount of features. The Standard Residential plan starts at $6.95 per month for the first three months and runs at $15.95 thereafter, for the remainder of the year. This plan includes unlimited calling to the US and Canada, $10 per month calling credit for international calls and a free ATA. The Premium International plan runs at $9.95 per month for the first three months and $17.95 per month for the next 9 months. A huge bonus for this plan is the inclusion of free calling to 70 countries, including Canada, India, China and the UK.

A yearly rate is available for $99.95 per year before taxes and fees. This price relates to the Standard Residential plan though it is not clearly stated. Keep in mind, like most communication companies, taxes and other fees are not included with this price.

Standard, no frill voice features are inherent to all plans. Customers can enjoy benefits such as CNAM (Caller ID), DND (Do Not Disturb), call forwarding and Follow Me features that send a missed call to another destination, 3-way calls and a handful of other useful features.

Teleblend has a support section to help with installation and dial tone related issues, along with troubleshooting tools. There is also a phone number to call and a support ticket system if a higher level of support is necessary.

The Bad

The Teleblend customer service department gets bad reviews from our visitors and indeed across the Internet, which is always a little concerning. Maybe you'll have no issues, in which case this is not a big deal but usually there's a reason to call for help at some point in time.

The BBB is (or should be) a first stop when reviewing a product, service or site. The company is not BBB accredited and maintains an 'F' rating. More than half of the complaints are not addressed and further, only a small percentage is satisfied with the conflict resolution. With that said, considering the several years the company has been on the BBB radar, the volume of complaints is actually quite low.

Although pricing looks reasonable at first glance, if you ignore the 3 month initial special, the cost for unlimited calls for the US and Canada is actually quite expensive when compared to other options that are out there in the market place.

The Bottom Line

  • Low rates for calling to the US and Canada starting at $6.95 per month for the first 3 months and $15.95 thereafter.
  • Calling to most of North America and 70 additional countries starts at $9.95 for the first 3 months and $17.95 for the remainder of the year.
  • Customer service seems to be difficult to contact.
  • International calling is included with both regular plans. The Standard Residential plan includes $10 of international calls per month and the Premium International includes calling to 70 countries.
  • Many standard voice features are included with plans such as 3-way calling, Follow Me/call forwarding, voicemail with the option to send it as an email attachment and several others.

Overall Thoughts

The company has received a few scathing reviews from disappointed customers so anyone considering or selecting this service should be cautious. Yet, despite negative remarks, complaints are few considering the number of years the company has been in business.

The pricing is a little on the high side, when the special deal is taken out of the picture. The standard plan includes $10 of credit towards International calls each month. It would be great if they had a basic plan that excluded this and brought the price down for unlimited calling to the US and Canada only.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


Teleblend Overview

Users have been reviewing Teleblend on our website since 2007. Unfortunately there are quite a few disgruntled visitors it seems, especially when it concerns customer service.

...The phone service is OK, just hope you don't have to deal with customer service!....

...One nice thing, you can delete unwanted callers...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 6)

Total Number 53 5 Stars 10
Thumbs Up 14 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 39 3 Stars 16
Average Rating 2.9 2 Stars 15
More Providers 1 Star 7

Teleblend reviews are listed in chronological order.

Terrible

Overall rating (2.3)

#53 : AUG 8th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had Teleblend for years. Because of Target being hacked my credit card company sent me a new card. I no longer remembered my login and I couldn't get in the system to pay my bill. I sent many emails and called many times but was unable to get a live person. They shut off my account because I wasn't paying monthly. Don't forget I was trying to pay but didn't have a way to pay. I also found out that I was being double billed. For at least a half dozen months I was double billed.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible Recent Performance

Overall rating (2.3)

#52 : AUG 19th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

No dial tone for several months. No forwarding for over a month. Sign-up is easy and they are excellent at billing every month even as their service falters and fails. Not possible to get customer support by phone, only emails. They have been promising to get things back online in another week, or a few days etc, for over a month but they keep failing. Many hours lost providing them details and following instructions on how to get the dial tone to no avail. After being with them for over a decade and putting up with the gradual decreased quality of customer support, this is being written to help other folks avoid this very poor performing company.

Comment on this review >>

Worst VoIP on the market!

Overall rating (1)

#51 : JUN 27th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have not had service now for over a week, with a total of 3 lines that no longer ring. TeleBlend send emails apologizing, but no fix yet. We plan to get a Magicjack and save over $150 per year and (hopefully) get a provider that is stable and reliable. This is the second outage Teleblend has had in the last month.

Comment on this review >>

Rapidly increasing basic rate

Overall rating (2.7)

#50 : MAR 31st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I started with them at $16.00. They are now charging me $32 per month and no one can tell me why the cost has increased so dramatically over the past 2 years. I have tried to ask them to work with me on a lower priced plan but they are unwilling. I use the phone very little - no long distance, no international calls so this just isn't worth what I'm paying. Customer service will not help me.

Comment on this review >>

Dishonest company!

Overall rating (1.7)

#49 : MAR 30th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Like some others I have had this VOIP for years dating back to Sunrocket. The quality of the calls is perfect. The problem is they have been stealing from me. Like many I am a busy person. I unfortunately let a couple months pass here and there where I didn't check my Credit Card bill, I just paid it. They have attempted to bill my CC account twice in one month and they have taken random amounts even as high as $54 over what I should have been paying them. If you are someone who is still using them I implore you to watch every move they make and be ready to contact your CC company as soon as they try to pull a fast one on you.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Robo (November 30th 2015) : I have been with SunRocket and then with Teleblend, with good results. A few months ago their service went out for 2 weeks. I did receive a $5 credit for two months, the service was restored and has worked normally since. The yearly price is higher than some others, plus $10 for other miscellaneous fees. Their voice and dialing is good. I seem to stay but I am also checking VOIPo and INTalk, both are excellent with 1 yearly fee.

Comment on this review >>

Is Teleblend out of business?

Overall rating (3.4)

#48 : MAR 13th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Pro's: Been with them for years (previously Sunrocket). Had a few issues but they were resolved quickly. Overall, happy with the service. Con's: Support/Contact. Last night (3/12/2015) everything stopped working. The Teleblend website is gone. Did they pull a Sunrocket and go out of business overnight?

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Fleuri (March 14th 2015) : Service was out the evening of March 12th 2015 throughout the 13th. Website was down (except for 1 page to sign up with them, which apologized for service being down and that they're working on it but no POC to call or status updates). Service restarted today March 14th, web pages function again. No explanation, and no message. Charge for service has remained at $12.95/month for past several years, but actual monthly bill climbed from $20.65 to $34.26/month last month, so more than $21 all in taxes & fees. Most of steady raises due to "network access fee", none in May 2014 and now $10.59/month. Wonder who is charging them to access the phone network?

Comment on this review >>

Stay Away From Teleblend

Overall rating (2)

#47 : FEB 25th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a Teleblend Customer since back in 2004 when they were "Sunrocket". The original Sunrocket customer service was first rate/excellent and the phone service was good. When they transitioned to "Teleblend" I stayed with them - probably because I was "in place" and the service worked. They have since discontinued any telepone, chat, or live customer service - all you can do is email. I've now been without phone service for about two weeks. I know that the adapter device is defective (I have another Teleblend line in the house that works correctly). I've been getting the runaround and they don't seem to care. They tell me my problem has be "escalated" to engineering, but I'm not sure what that means since you can't get an answer from them. I just purchased another service (VOIPo) that got me an adapter in two days, answered the phone number with a live person, helped with my account set-up and answered my device set-up questions; and I'm now back up and running with phone service. Run, Run, Run away from Teleblend. The monthly recurring charges are very high (even with the "yearly" cost of service plan) and when the service goes south you will be left hanging with no one who cares. I suspect they are existing on a lifeline, get in the lifeboat before the boat sinks completely.

Comment on this review >>

Run From Teleblend!

Overall rating (2.7)

#46 : JAN 12th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been with Teleblend for about 8 years now since they took over from SunRocket. It was an easy transition in that I already had the SunRocket equipment in place and all they did was take over the service. Sound quality and reliability have been great over the years with just a few outages. Teleblend customer support was sparse but acceptable through email only. About a year ago I noticed they were double billing my account a few times a year. They would charge the credit card once near the beginning of the month and again near the end. I read the same complaint from others. It took a while with their sparse support to straighten this out but it worked. Over time I noticed my overall monthly charge was continually creeping up. I was on the $9.99/month plan all along but the fees were becoming outrageous. My bill is now at $31.23/month. I did some research and ordered an Ooma telo today. Now my biggest problem is going to be porting my number out of Teleblend. They won't support existing customers so I can't imagine how they treat a departing one.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jackie (February 6th 2015) : I have also been a customer since they took over from SunRocket. I switched to Ooma once I realized the fees they were charging were over the top. The number porting according to Ooma representative was longer than normal. But then the issue was cancelling the service. Most providers will close your account once you port your number. However, Teleblend will not, you have to send them an email requesting them to cancel your service and give a date for closing your account.

Comment on this review >>

OK Phone Service, Terrible Customer Service

Overall rating (2.6)

#45 : DEC 23rd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The phone service is OK, just hope you don't have a problem and have to deal with customer service. They have no way to communicate with customer service by phone (yet they are a phone service company), all communications with them are done by email.

Comment on this review >>

Good Call Quality, Very, Very Poor Service

Overall rating (3.1)

#44 : DEC 3rd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Call quality is just as good as a normal phone line. Customer service is a disaster. It is very difficult to get a hold of an actual human. If you call their number for support you are directed to send an email. If one day you want to leave Teleblend then the process gets to be pain... to quote Teleblend "Please note, if you are porting your number to another carrier, your TeleBlend account must remain open until the port out completes at which time the account holder must contact TeleBlend (remember there is no human to talk to) to close the account per the TeleBlend Terms and Conditions. We do not accept third party cancellations nor are we notified of port-outs as they are handled by underlying carriers. Your TeleBlend account will remain open and continue to bill until we receive security information from the account holder" Need I say more. Keep away from this one.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 6
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 53 5 Stars 10
Thumbs Up 14 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 39 3 Stars 16
Average Rating 2.9 2 Stars 15
More Providers 1 Star 7

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: