Phone.com Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Phone.com (3.9)
9 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 9 User submitted reviews >>

Phone.com Review by WhichVoIP

Phone.com is headquartered in Livingston, New Jersey and was founded in 2007 with the mission to provide total communications flexibility and freedom to homes and small businesses. The founders are experienced VoIP industry professionals and they currently hold an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

The Good

Phone.com have two main plan options available to USA residents based on minute usage, a 300 minute plan and an unlimited calling plan (which includes calls from USA to Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, and the UK). Once you have selected your plan there are additional options (premium features) available to customize your account, including additional numbers (local/toll-free/global numbers), custom music and messages, additional minutes, call recording, and voicemail transcription. Human transcriptions are charged by the voicemail and automated transcriptions are charged at an additional monthly fee.

All plans include 40 features such as custom menus, extensions with voicemail, send/receive faxes, mobile services, and an app for smartphones to manage features and account information. On top of these features, Phone.com is supported across multiple devices. Calls can be made and received via smartphones, tablets, laptop and desktop computers, and of course, desk phones.

Porting existing numbers into the service is free and there is no setup fee for vanity and standard toll free numbers.

Global Numbers allow you to choose a number local to your family or clients, forwarding them to you as if it were a local call rather than an international call. Global Number pricing is based on the country of the desired phone number.

Phone.com offers 24/7 support via phone, email and live chat.

Phone adapters (ATA) for connecting phones to the service are provided for free.

The Bad

Though the service offers many features, it does come at a premium. The basic shared plan supports only 300 minutes with the option to increase the number of minutes at increased rates. Based on the price of minutes, Phone.com is fairly expensive compared to other providers.

Despite offering services for both home and office use, the main focus appears to be primarily on small businesses over family use, and while not necessarily bad, it's certainly something to consider when looking to subscribe to a residential service.

Phone.com provides mobile extension of their service via an app for iOS and Android. However, reviews for Android have indicated errors and customer dissatisfaction with the app on some devices.

A disconnection fee of $54.95 is charged immediately following a termination request of your home phone service with them. This fee is credited if you return the ATA device back to them within 14 days of your termination notice request. The device must be received by them in good working order and you will be responsible for all shipping and handling fees associated with the return.

The Bottom Line

  • New Users: A 30-day trial is available to test the service hassle free, with no credit card required. The phone adapter also comes free, though there is a monthly equipment rental fee of $4.99 for basic plans.
  • Hardware: A selection of desk phones and adapter upgrades are available to purchase and rent through their website. A $39.95 hardware discount is also applicable toward a user's first equipment purchase. Hardware from Phone.com is not required for the service, and a hardware compatibility list is available on the site to make sure the equipment you may already own will work. Expect to pay any shipping and handling fees.
  • Shared User Plan: $14.99/month and includes 300 minutes, a single phone number and all 40 calling features.
  • Unlimited User Plan: $24.99/month and includes "unlimited" minutes for a single phone number, plus all 40 calling features. Unlimited calls include those made within the US and to Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. There is no limit to the number of Unlimited Users that can be placed on one account. Unlimited users are not subject to the $4.99/month hardware fee.
  • Unlimited + Shared: $24.99/month and includes a single Unlimited User and shared minutes. The same as the Unlimited User plan, but allows for shared minutes (purchased separately) between multiple phones.
  • Additional minutes can be added to accounts and are charged on top of your chosen plan. We recommend you check out their website for latest rates, but here are some examples: 700 minutes for $27.30/month; 2,200 minutes for $77.00/month; 2,500 minutes for $85.00/month; 5,000 minutes for $165.00/month; and 10,000 minutes for $310.00/month. Pay as you go is 4.9c/minute.
  • Additional Fees: Premium features and international calling are offered at various usage and monthly rates. Additional numbers can be added to your account for $4.99/month. Regulatory fees, e911 fees and appropriate local/state/federal taxes will be added to the monthly rates.

Overall Thoughts

Phone.com offers a high level of quality service and support. Though with a higher cost of service than many other VoIP providers, it would be wise to browse other options if you're looking solely for a residential service. However, the Unlimited User plan is a financially viable service for those who plan on high levels of monthly phone usage. Phone.com is a competitive service that has a broad range of features to tailor user's individual needs.

We recommend you have a read through the Phone.com reviews submitted by users of our site. Click on the tab at the top of this page to view them.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Michael


Phone.com Overview

We currently have a low number of user submitted reviews for Phone.com service. If you have used their service we would love to hear your feedback, simply complete our easy review form (use the buttons on this page). From the reviews received here at WhichVoIP the overall average rating is "Good".

...Phone.com has given me the BEST customer support experience I have ever had...

All User Reviews

Total Number 9 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 7 4 Stars 4
Thumbs Down 2 3 Stars 0
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 0

Phone.com reviews are listed in chronological order.

Serving our business since 2007. Great Company.

Overall rating (5)

#9 : AUG 3rd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Back in 2007, we got sick of paying local wire line phone bills of hundreds of dollars, but we could not afford to sacrifice service. We needed a rock solid company with strong resources, a reliable phone switch, great internet connectivity, 24 hour competent customer service, and an easy to use control panel. We are now up to 14 lines with Phone.com, running three different businesses. I also use one of their devices at home. Prices are great and so are the people.

Comment on this review >>

Best system for the price

Overall rating (5)

#8 : JUL 11th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Good price for the service and no long term commitment. The phones through them were not marked up and overpriced. If you buy the phones through them or the ones they recommend then they will support them by phone or internet 100%. I could not find them at a lower price other places (by $3-4). Good price and great service.

Comment on this review >>

OK with suprises

Overall rating (4.1)

#7 : SEP 6th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Most of the time it works great, but then at times the phone acts up such as we cannot hear the person on the other end or at times there is a slight delay. We have experienced a few dropped calls as well. When I connected the system the way they recommended my download speed dropped in half from 5 mbps to 2.5 mbps so i just connected it to one of the router ports instead of between the router and main internet box as instructed. long distance works great, voice mail also works great... I believe we will keep this phone for the two years and then see how things go, it is good, but perhaps we were spoiled with the old phone company. I miss the not problems with the phone but i don't miss the price that went with it, so I guess i am willing to put up with a few glitches to save the dollars..

Comment on this review >>

Phone.com/Barry R

Overall rating (4.9)

#6 : MAR 14th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

To begin with, Phone.com has given me the BEST customer support experience I have ever had. There has never been any frustration in the voice of any rep I have talked to. I call often because I change things around a lot. I have I have 30 people that work for my company, Group Realtors in Cincinnati. There has never been a complaint from my agents or staff. I have 5 phone numbers that I ported over from Cincinnati Bell without any issues. Included is my home phone number. I use 3 Cisco phones that I purchased from phone.com. All I had to do was plug them in. I rout the numbers to various phones with distinctive rings for each. There are lots of cool features on the dash board. My only complaint would be on some wireless carriers, the hold music comes across loud. I recommend Phone.com to anyone wanting to save lots of money and have great service. I save 600.00 per month over Cincinnati Bell.

Comment on this review >>

Small Home Office

Overall rating (3.7)

#5 : JUN 2nd, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I selected the virtual office plan since it only allowed 300 minutes of talk time per month, for a trial. For $14.88 you get 300 talk time minutes, 2 phone numers, unlimited extensions, menus, queues and conferencing. I also added a 3rd phone number for $4.88 a month to make it a dedicated fax line. I liked the phone numbers selection, and at the time I signed up the had tons of phone numbers in town and suburbs of Dallas, so if you wanted to "appear" that you were in a certain part of town, you could by your number selection. Lately, the number selections has gotten sparse. I also ordered the two free, no frills Cisco SPA 301 voip phones, which are sturdy and work great, but no frills, no caller ID. They have nicer VOIP phones, but they were pricey in my opinion and what I was going to use this for. At the time I ordered, I was about to have a round of surgeries with rehabs in different facilities. My Sprint Cell has been known to not work/get no reception in many medical facilities. Every hospital room and rehab facility room I stayed in had an active ethernet plug in, so I would take my free Cisco phone with me, and friends and family always had one number to call me at, and no night time switchboard blocks from the hospital. I was in several facilities, and everyone I would plug in the power cord and the ethernet cord, and have dial tone in a couple of minutes. For the most part the service has been great, except during peak alling times like around the 4-7 pm range. I have had trouble answering calls during that time, where I would be saying hello AND hearing a call waiting beep, but the caller said it was just ringing, or I would hang up and the phone would start ringing again, answer again, silence again, and after a period of time the caller would eventually end up in voicemail. I could call back no problem. I now replaced my home landline with this system with a phone in the living room, and one in the bedroom, since I rarely used my landline, and I haven't exceeded 300 minutes a month since starting to use it in this configuration. Their features are super, and you can built pretty sophisticated call handling trees. The conference call features was a winner in my book. There is no additional charge for it, they have not charged me for usage of it. I own a small company, and actually use this to have conference calls with employees and clients. They call into a certain phone number (the same one each time), and the conference room number is always the same, and we have had up to 20 people in a conference call. I use RingCentral for my office voip system which is OK, but super features for my business. I am trying to get all my RingCentral voip extension sets with the same area code and prefix, which I haven't been able to seem to do with RingCentral. However, once a week, I log into my Phone.com account, go to the add a number features (they charge $4.88 a month to add a number, basically park it), and I have had great luck getting 12 numbers with my desired area code and prefix. After having them on my phone.com account for about 2 months, I port them to RingCentral and replace the odd extension phone number with one that matches the rest in my company.

Comment on this review >>

Phone.com Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#4 : FEB 10th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Phone.com is monitoring their reviews on their own website, so I wanted to voice my opinion with an objective site. I posted my review September 2011, on their site, after giving Phone.com an honest opportunity. Phone.com is an unreliable company with the same type of service. We purchased all high end computer hardware, modem, router and system. We started out with the fastest DSL available and our lag time was horrible! Phone.com told me it was our IPO. We cancelled the DSL and had cable (the fastest available) installed. It still didn?t make any difference. As suggested by Z Beeri, we did reboot our hardware several times. It didn?t make a bit of difference. When I called Phone.com, they actually told me to take my Phone.come system to a neighbors or relative house and try it! Unbelievable! I knew then I wasn?t dealing with a reputable company. I honestly don?t understand the ?few? positive reviews. The service Phone.com provides is beyond horrible and how they stay in business is also beyond me! I would strongly suggest to say far, far away from this company. You may also want to check out the reviews on their website.

Comment on this review >>

Phone.com Review

Overall rating (2.3)

#3 : JAN 24th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Customer support is very bad. If you have any problem with this provider you will be better to switch to another provider than to wait for phone.com to address your problem. These people are to be avoided at all cost!

Comment on this review >>

Phone.com Review

Overall rating (4.2)

#2 : NOV 16th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been using phone.com for almost 2 months. So far, so good. I had AT&T before and I was not happy paying $40+ a month. I got more 877/866/800 solicitation calls than actual friends and families calling, since they either call, text, or email me on my cell. Set up was a breeze, but the Linksys adapter they provided was doa. They promptly sent me a replacement overnight and it worked like a charm. The only bad thing is my cable modem gateway goes out every so often, which makes the phone inoperable, until I reboot. The good thing is you can get voicemails texted to your cell or you can log on to phone.com and check messages. I'm not worried about missing calls, since most of them are solicitations and family members who I dont like very much. Overall it's a great buy. Especially at $9.88 + taxes, a month. Roughly comes out to about $11 and change.

Comment on this review >>

Phone.com Review

Overall rating (3.9)

#1 : OCT 27th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The BASE packages are GREAT deals, so for HOME servie I highly recomend. Bbut add-ons for other numbers and extensions (aka actual phones) on the Virtual Office product really add up. When we were done confiruing for our small business we were over $100 per month. The voice quality varies by time of day, Off-peak it is FANTASTIC, during busy hours it is chopy. I assume they are having growing pains and I would bet this will be fixed very shortly. Customer service also varies greatly. Sometimes the person taking the call can do ANYTHING you need while you are on the phone. But we called with very basic requests (like add an extension) and had someone "take the information for 2nd level support." again, I assume growing pains. Overall, I say this is very much like Vonage 6 years ago for service and quality but the features blow Vonage away and the prices are great if you have very few numbers and extentions (like home service). For business, it is not a good fit for us. We are moving the an in-houseTRIXBOX and sip trunk services.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 9 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 7 4 Stars 4
Thumbs Down 2 3 Stars 0
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 0

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: