Comwave Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Comwave (2.9)
14 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 14 User submitted reviews >>

Comwave Review by WhichVoIP

Comwave is a well-known provider for phone and Internet service throughout Canada. Serving over 1600 cities across the country, the company provides residential service and further serves the business community with high quality broadband services. Established in 1999, this privately owned company is among the largest national providers in the country and further boasts a decent track record for service and support. Although Comwave now has a portion of its website allocated to providing services in the USA, most of the offering are placeholders and are not currently available. As such, this review will focus completely on the Canadian products and services.

The Good

When it comes to Internet and phone service in Canada, you are bound to select providers based on the province where you reside. Fortunately, Comwave provides service to various cities throughout the entire nation. For those that are in somewhat more remote locations, this is one of many benefits the company has to offer.

Comwave serves the residential market with affordable VoIP based home phone systems. Starting at $9.95 a month, you can purchase a basic home phone service with unlimited calling to your area code. You will receive 6 months of free service, should you sign up for a 3 year contract. If you opt out of the contract, $5 a month (i.e. $14.95) will provide the same features on a month-to-month basis.

For $19.95 a month, a user can not only unburden themselves from a 3 year contract but also enjoy additional benefits. This rate includes such features as visual caller ID and call waiting, web access to contacts and voicemail, call forwarding as well as other beneficial features. They will even port your number to their service for free. At another $10 a month, the Global Plan is available under a 3 year contract that includes unlimited international calling to 60 countries.

Two different mobile options are available. The first of these is a stand-alone app called ephone that is effectively a mobile calling card and can be loaded as needed to make calls from anywhere in the world. The second app is called Comwave mobile and is a typical VoIP app for existing customers to use as an extension of their service. Both apps are available from the Google, Apple and Blackberry app stores.

Internet from Comwave starts at $40 a month for 6 Mbps of bandwidth. To upgrade to higher bandwidth tiers, prices are incredibly low. For example, 15 Mbps will cost $45 a month and 50 Mbps (the highest available for residential bandwidth) is only $60 a month. Bundles are available for home phone with each Internet pricing tier.

Comwave's business services are powered by a hosted PBX that grants access to a multitude of features. Starting at $14.95 a month per user, 25 features are available for your business. To get the most of a business phone plan, the next level of service at $24.95 a month per line opens up features that most would expect from a business phone system such as an auto attendant, conference calling and unlimited calling. In addition to hosted voice services, the company also offers SIP trunking and Comwave claims to be the largest SIP trunking provider in Canada. Local, North American and Global trunks are available are available for purchase at various price points.

The Bad

The Canadian market is well known for high prices with respect to Internet and phone services. At best, Comwave has competitive pricing and the only real deal to be found is the 6 months of free service for certain Internet and phone offers with a 3 year contract.

Fortunately, the company is very consistent with service uptime and maintaining promised bandwidth regions served.

You will pay a $50 deposit to rent the gateway used for Internet service or home phone. Without committing to a plan, your rates will increase approximately $5 per month which is not unreasonable. Although there is a small fee of $12 for VoIP adapters, these ATA devices are required to allow you to connect a regular telephone to your network.

The basic and enhanced plans do not include any allocation of minutes for nationwide long distance calling in Canada. The Canada plan must be selected to obtain the unlimited calling feature that is common among Comwave competitors, but at a much cheaper monthly price.

The Bottom Line

  • Residential services starts at $9.95 a month for the Basic Plan with a 3 year term or only $14.95 a month with no commitment.
  • Advanced plans cost anywhere from $10 to $15 a month more than Basic Plan and include many additional features from visual caller ID to call forwarding.
  • A $50 deposit is required for the Comwave home gateway and a $12 fee applies for phone ATAs that connect regular phones to a network.
  • Internet service starts at $40 a month for 6 Mbps download speeds.
  • The highest grade of Internet service is $60 a month for 50 Mbps download speeds.
  • Business services start at $14.95 a month per user for a metered plan that includes very basic calling options.
  • SIP trunks starting at $19.95 per month
  • The most popular calling option for business is $24.95 a month per user that grants access to a few premium features and unlimited calling in USA/CA
  • Free mobile application allows users to utilize calling plans over 3G/4G or WiFi.

Overall Thoughts

For a nationwide provider of both Internet and phone services, Comwave is among the best in Canada. The affordable options offered by the company are ideal for most consumers or businesses in the nation.

The residential plans can be good choices for those that do not make a lot of phone calls and are simply looking for a cheap replacement to a land-line. For higher volume callers though, there are cheaper options available that include more features. Comwave does not offer any extreme discounts on pricing with the exception of 6 months for free service with a 3 year contract. Like every other service and product, make sure you read the fine print and you will enjoy their service.

There are comprehensive service offerings for businesses that will enable most companies to look at bundling both data and voice services. Comwave should be able satisfy the needs of most businesses as it offers voice services available as either basic business lines, long distance, hosted PBX or SIP trunking solutions.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Anthony


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 2)

Total Number 14 5 Stars 4
Thumbs Up 8 4 Stars 2
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 2.9 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 3

Comwave reviews are listed in chronological order.

Very bad service

Overall rating (1)

#14 : OCT 17th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been with Comwave since the 12th of October and its been nothing but trouble. If I use the Internet and the phone at the same time equals catastrophe. The sound for the phone is most of the time bad. My Internet service is very bad and I was going to change for another service but I can't go satellite because my phone won't work but I did tell them I had to change but no one mentioned that. They told me I could have 2 phones with the VoIP, not true, you can't and if you do want to add another phone you have to pay more and will need another phone number. We have an alarm system - nobody mentioned anything about that it wouldn't work anymore and one person from Comwave said to me you should have asked about that. It's my fault if they are liars. I talked to 6 people since the 12th and they all have a different answer to the problem.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Adina (November 22nd 2016) : One of the worst service ever! Do not get involved with this company at all.

Comment on this review >>

Customer service

Overall rating (5)

#13 : SEP 22nd, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Customer service was very helpful, polite and because of their help I will let my friends know how happy I am with Comwave.

Comment on this review >>

Great customer service

Overall rating (5)

#12 : AUG 8th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am new to computers. I bought my first computer a week ago and didn't know how to turn it on. I called Comwave and the customer rep set me up from his end. He saved me from having to pay somebody for this. He has been extremely helpful to me. As a result I felt confident enough that same day to start the process of cancelling my subscription with Bell. A week later and I don't regret my decision to buy a computer. I give customer service 10 out of 10.

Comment on this review >>

Disappointed

Overall rating (2.7)

#11 : MAY 30th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been with Comwave for almost 6 years and their service has been pretty good till the last 3 months. I have been experiencing technical problems with phone service. On many occasions contacted customer support they say it was resolved but was not. On last call to tech department I told them I was going to another provider if issue could not be repaired. I am a pensioner and need a reliable phone provider. He said fine. Then they charged me 2 last invoices for an extra months service and one for early cancellation. I don't mind paying my bills for reliable service but when they charge you after telling you to leave, to me that's stealing. Caution to all if you cancel service with Comwave or any other provider the first thing you should do is call your credit card company and cancel them from making auto withdrawals.

Comment on this review >>

Great Technical Support

Overall rating (5)

#10 : MAR 16th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I was having a problem with our home phone so I called Comwave Technical Support and spoke to a representative. He was able to guide me through the problem without issues and within a few minutes the problem was resolved and my phone was working again! Thanks Comwave.

Comment on this review >>

Great service, reasonable price

Overall rating (4.2)

#9 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had Comwave VoIP service for some 5 years, both in the home and office. It works well and I have had few problems with connection. Don't like their multiple charges for 911 service which I would not use.

Comment on this review >>

Great Service

Overall rating (1)

#8 : JAN 7th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After turbulent issues which has to do with Satellite signal and latency, some of the problems have been addressed with success. A new modem was delivered and service now seems to work flawless. Grateful for efficient response to problems voiced and now appear to be corrected.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Tim (January 27th 2016) : Good to hear, I think they would be good, but they seem to want deposits even if you're a good customer.

Comment on this review >>

Very poor home phone and long distance quality

Overall rating (1)

#7 : JUN 2nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I use home phone and long distance service from Comwave. Very poor Sound quality, called for service but they did not fix the issues. Since I have been using Comwave the reliability of the long distance call service has been poor. Now it is totally unreliable and unusable. I have called many times and spent hours on the line trying to get help. The service is never repaired at all. I am discontinuing my account because the service is so bad. After cancellation they charged me 282.00 + 52.00 for number transfer fee. They are not fair with their customers. Comwave are a very unreliable company. I will never recommend any family or friends to have service from Comwave.

Comment on this review >>

You get what you pay for

Overall rating (4.6)

#6 : APR 28th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been a Comwave customer since 2009. Back when Comwave started there was almost no competition in the Canadian Market, today there are many options. I switched recently to one of the lower priced options and it was a disaster. I know a fair bit about VoIP and I can tell you that you get what you pay for. It was clear that the provider I was on was running some sort of freeware phone system as the quality was horrible. Never again! I do recommend Comwave and just locked into another contract with them for 3 years. They gave me 6 months free in exchange for the contract. Comwave's main advantage is that they have been in the game longer than the others that they have been able to establish solid, fairly reliable service. Everybody is going to experience occasional issues, so it is important not to flip out over it, but instead take everything in stride. While there are many other providers who can undercut Comwave's prices, be aware that with many of them (maybe most of them?) that you may also "get what you pay for" with less-than- stellar phone service. One good thing that can be said for Comwave is that they are consistent in every area - both good and bad. As for me personally, I've only had two issues with my service in the last five years, both of them related to the Comwave device breaking down. I have had one good experience (a device shipped to me overnight - call went in at 10PM on a Tuesday and device arrived at 4PM on a Wednesday) and a not so good experience (took 5 days to get me a replacement device from Friday to Tuesday). Overall I do not have any issues with their customer service, on the few occasions I spoke with them they have been helpful and courteous. Technical support has always been rock-solid, quick and efficient, no issues for a geek like me. The price is higher than some others but as I said you get what you pay for. The lowest price is not always the best option! Any geek will tell you it is better to stick with a network and service that has been around for a while and has worked out all the bugs!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Michael ( August 1st 2015) : "fairly reliable service" doesn't exactly instill a TON of confidence!!

Comment on this review >>

Horrible experience

Overall rating (0)

#5 : APR 20th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Unexplainable money taken off my credit card. I had to pay an installation fee when it hasn't been installed, and having to pay to re-ship the product back to them. I also had to put a down payment of $211.00 and some change and I'm supposed to only get back $140, which is not right. I think people should get back what they paid.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Adam at Comwave (April 28th 2015) : Hi Tabetha, I am sorry to hear that you are upset with us. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and we will go above and beyond to ensure that you are satisfied. Please email your customer id and contact number to social@comwave.net and I will have a Manager reach out to you.

Michael (August 1st 2015) : OK, Adam, from Comwave......I do not see a resolution to Tabetha's problems here. Did you fix her up.....or not? Why did she have these problems in the first place? Don't you think your boss would like you to explain what happened here? GO FOR IT!

Steve (May 11th 2016) : Do not sign up with Comwave. Once they have your credit card number they will debit your credit card whatever amount they think you owe. That little print on the TV ad below the $49.00 a month states all long distance charges are paid in U.S currency. The people they hire to sell the services over the phone are sales people. Thats all they do. When you phone to complain you will never talk to the person who sold you the services. You will talk to someone from a different department, then another department, and so on. Take my advice, stay clear of Con-wave!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 14 5 Stars 4
Thumbs Up 8 4 Stars 2
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 2.9 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 3

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.5)
  • SHARE: