Norton trust seal
BBB logo

Broadvoice Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Broadvoice.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Write a Review
Broadvoice (3.1) 61 Reviews
(30% Recommended)
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

Broadvoice Overview

Broadvoice is a privately held company formed in December of 2003 in California. Broadvoice have one of the largest selection of phone service plans of any provider, Customer support 7 days a week and International calling to hundreds of countries around the world. They have five plans available ranging from $9.95 a month to $49.95 per month. The cheapest plan, Unlimited In-State offers unlimited calling within the state of your choice and calls outside that state are charged on a per minute basis. The most expensive plan, Unlimited World Premium has unlimited calling within the US and to 87 other countries, even some mobile numbers are free. There are a number of plans sandwiched between these that offer calls to just the US, Canada and Puerto Rico or to a select number of international countries. All broadvoice plans come with unlimited minutes.

Broadvoice have over 60 reviews on WhichVoIP which gives a very good sample size to make an informed decision. Most users seem to have been with the company for a number of years and many of the recent complaints are regarding changes made to existing plans. Customer service also seems to be a major pain point. On the plus side features and ease of setup seem to be a huge positive. If you have experience with this provider then please complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments using the links on this page.

If you are interested in their Business VoIP plans then check out reviews from business users.

...For last 7 years I've NEVER had any issues with the BroadVoice service. In all this years I called customer service maybe 2 times, just to setup my VOIP Phone Adapter....


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Broadvoice reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (3.3) : Unlimited is a scam

#61 : APR 29th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had the Unlimited plan for over 2 years and never had a problem until my mother-in-law came to visit and had to make lots of international calls. Broadvoice without giving any notice just blocked my international calls and sent me an e-mail afterwards saying what they had done. Call customer service and they were very rude saying that I used to many minutes. Just a reminder, I had the UNLIMITED plan!!! After arguing with the person, he said I had 3 options, either pay for an extra amount to call Brazil, be without International calls or cancel.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.3) : Not so good!

#60 : DEC 11th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I was a costumer for over 5 years, the service was ok during the first 2 years or so, but the last year had been so bad: dropped calls, bad connection, unable to receive a call, no dial tone, phone calls that I would make from my own cell phone, leave a message, and would receive only days later, or not at all. The list of problems went on, and on... I had to contact costumer service at least once a week with one or more issues. They kept on blaming the connection, the modem, the service at Comcast, my phone, etc... I finally had enough of it, when during one of the 'weekly" calls to costumer service, trying to figure out why I had no service, and the box would not re-set and they told me I had to purchase a new one for a whopping $150. That was it for me. I would NOT recomend this service.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.9) : Very happy customer for over 7 years

#59 : AUG 1st, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

For last 7 years I've NEVER had any issues with the BroadVoice service. In all this years I called customer service maybe 2 times, just to setup my VOIP Phone Adapter. No complaints and full recomendation.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.1) : People, believe these reviews, DON'T SIGN UP FOR BROADOVICE!

#58 : JUL 26th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Stay away and far away from this company!!!. I've been with them for over seven years and its now time for me to depart, I've been so patient and forgiving to put up with this. There's been no growth and no innovation over the years since i signed up in 2005, no new calling features, no new incentives, same old poor service. They are still using .wav files to store voicemails which i cannot open on my phone, who even knows what a wav file is, is this 1997?, even then theyhad mp2 files at least. But aside from the antiquated systems, I've had nothing but issues with call quality, outages, and dealing with their non existent support services. I called one time to complain about a duplicate multipresence activation charge, i was instructed to send an email to billing, so i waited and waited and waited so i finally i received a response after 2 weeks stating there's no way to refund me the money! Another time a call got "stuck" within in the callmanager website and i was unable to make any calls for days. I was never offered a refund, service credit nothing... I am so happy this is my second line and not my main phone line because this is service is worthless. The best part is i called in one time for help setting up a softphone, and i waited an hour to get on the line, and the rep answered, there was a lot of noise, people talking, tv going, so unprofessional!!!, i explained my issues to the rep and he put me on hold for 15 minutes, came back and i heard laughing in the background and someone saying "are you coming with us?", i heard the rep speaking in spanish and then "click" i was disconnected, i guess it was 8 o clock and he didn't want to put in OT to help me with the issues and didn't even have the decency to transfer me to someone else!!! I sent several complaints about this and no one ever responded or even seemed to care. The last straw which pushed me when i had my service disconnected because they couldn?t authorize my card, i've been using the card for the past couple of years and has been in good standing, no declines, expirations etc, so i dont know how ?magically? it can become unauthorized.. Couldn't find out what was going on, apparently i had to update my cc info that had never changed with the exact same info as before and it went through.... what is up with their systems? I went 2 days without phone service, after that i said forget it and switched to phone power. Anyone loooking to swtich PLEASE PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR DONT DO IT, THE CHEAP PRICE LOOKS LIKE BUT THE SERVICE AND SUPPORT ARE TOTAL GARBAGE!!!! THIS IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.7) : Broadvoice Review

#57 : MAR 2nd, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4) : Broadvoice Review

#56 : JAN 25th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After 7 years, I just cancelled my Broadvoice service. I really, really wanted to keep it, but they have implemented a new policy. If you update the expiration date on your credit card, then they require you to either email or fax them your driver's license or passport, and the front of your credit card. If you don't, then they'll charge you $1.99 a month more for fraud. There rates weren't as low as competitors, but I really liked their online account management tools and I try to stay with what works. Unfortunately, I won't stay with plain-and-simple BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES. I changed to Vonage, I keep my number, and I save $14 a month.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.6) : Broadvoice Review

#55 : OCT 9th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.3) : Broadvoice Review

#54 : OCT 6th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After being with Broadvoice for almost a year, they changed my calling plan because I started making calls more frequent than usual. So the "unlimited" plans are not really unlimited. I sent them two emails asking why they changed my calling plan, and received no answer. I do not recommend this company.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.1) : Broadvoice Review

#53 : AUG 8th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a Broadvoice customer for around 3 years. I have had very few problems with my service. On long distance calls, I would get disconnected after 15 minutes. It was no big deal to me because I only call my sister long distance so I would just call her back and talk some more. I thought, for $15 a month I can't complain, right? Well recently I had to update my credit card information. I received an email from Broadvoice saying that unless I send them a copy of my credit card, front and back and a copy of my drivers license they are going to charge me $1.99/month for fraud protection. I thought this was a scam email so I called them. I was told it is a real email and that I need to send those documents. I told them I do not need fraud protection, that my bank provides it. They told me unless I send the documents I will be charged $1.99/month. The customer service person was sort of huffy. I wonder if he has been receiving a lot of calls from angry customers. Anyway, I am changing my service. Bye bye Broadvoice. Too bad. I have been reasonably happy with you but I will not be bullied into purchasing services I do not need. There are enough fees on my bill already. I sent Broadvoice a scathing email but after reading other peoples reviews, I do not think they will care. It is obvious they do not care about their customers. I only hope I do not have a difficult time cancelling my account like some of the other reviewers did.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.6) : Broadvoice Review

#52 : JUL 13th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Broadvoice is such a joke of a company. Sends you a product that does not work and then if you try and cancel the contract they send you a cancelation fee that is twice the price of paying all of the bills left on your contract. BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!!!!!!!! Their 30 day money back is a load of bull!!!!!!

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 61 5 Stars 9
Recommended: YES 18 4 Stars 14
Recommended: NO 43 3 Stars 17
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 18
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 3
Compare Similar Providers

Other Popular Providers