1-VoIP Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for 1-VoIP.

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
1-VoIP (4.5)
127 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&Q and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 127 User submitted reviews >>

1-VoIP Review by WhichVoIP

In the Internet telephony market, many providers select a niche to serve with various offerings. Yet some, like 1-VoIP, take an approach of meeting needs from the big business down to residential customers. This company takes customers of any size and offers some additional perks that few others openly promote.

The Good

1-VoIP offers hosted services to accommodate residential users and busines users, from small/home offices up to larger businesses, as well as SIP Trunking services for anyone with a PBX needing to connect to other communication networks.

Residential service is offered in 3 different plans to cover the needs of the casual caller to the world caller. All service packages come with free activation and free hardware to connect a device. Subscribers may connect with an analog phone or a digital VoIP phone with the included SP2102 adapter. It is possible to connect most other BYOD hardware but it would be best to contact customer support to ensure compatibility of existing hardware.

The Value program for residential service runs at $8.97 a month and includes 500 minutes of calling to North American numbers. The US & Canada Unlimited plan offers just as the name implies, unlimited calling between numbers in these locations, and costs $17.97 per month. The World Unlimited plan is $23.97 per month and takes it a step further by offering unlimited calling to 30 countries with reasonable rates for calls outside of the covered regions.

All residential plans include unlimited incoming minutes, all features, hardware adaptor, free activation and no term commitment, as well as the option to use Nomorobo (for blocking telemarketers and robocalls). Features include voicemail, internet fax capabilities, music on hold, call filtering, forwarding, waiting, speed dial and more.

Business VoIP services pricing is based on a "per extension" fee which varies based on the number of users (i.e. extensions) configured. The Lite offering pricing is $24.97 per user per month for groups of 1 to 5 users, dropping to $22.97/user/mo for groups of 6 to 19 users, and then dropping to $20.97/user/mo for groups of 20 - 99 users. Beyond 99 users, a customer may call to negotiate a specific price. Note that the company will match any competitor quote for a similar service.

Features are all inclusive with any of the Business VoIP services. Customers may setup call queues, an auto-attendant (i.e. IVR menus), record calls and fax among many other features. Another great add-on is the inclusion of Nomorobo. This 3rd party service is specifically designed to block spam calling such as telemarketers and other well-known, blacklisted numbers.

If you run IP PBX software, SIP Trunking services are available for such systems. The Service Level Agreement (SLA) provides 99.999% uptime (thats less than 6 minutes of downtime per year) with 3 fully redundant co-located switching facilities. Virtually any mainstream PBX system (such as Asterisk, 3CX, Elastix, FreePBX etc.) can utilize 1-VoIP SIP Trunking to enjoy major cost saving benefits, though a consultation with customer service is necessary for exact pricing.

1-VoIP provides 24/7 customer service and technical support via phone and email with 100% based US support staff.

The Bad

One frustrating aspect of the site is the lookup feature for International calling. Some countries are difficult to find because of the way the input field works. Keep in mind, it is best to contact a customer service representative for more involved setups when distinct details are required.

Little information is provided pertaining to how the configuration process works. Many may want to know if a designated company admin converts settings or if a 1-VoIP representative must alter settings. For clarification, web administration is possible for business phone systems.

Make sure you keep any hardware provided by 1-VoIP for free in good shape as you will need to return it within 14 days of any cancellation of services. Otherwise you will be charged for the equipment.

The Bottom Line

  • Residential Value Plan: This entry level plan costs $8.97/month and includes 500 minutes to North America and unlimited incoming minutes.
  • Residential US & Canada Unlimited Plan: This is their most popular plan and includes unlimited calling to North America for $17.97/month.
  • Residential World Unlimited Plan: For those that need International calling on a regular basis should consider this plan at $23.97 per month with unlimited calling to North America and 30 International countries (including Australia, France, Germany, UK, Mexcio, China, Hong Kong, Israel and more).
  • All residential plans include unlimited incoming minutes, premium features, hardware, free activation and no term commitment.
  • Business Lite Plan: This plan is for businesses with 1 to 5 users and the cost is $24.97 per month per extension.
  • Business Professional Plan: Having 6 to 19 users reduces the cost to $22.97 per month per extension.
  • Business Enterprise Plan: For the medium sized business with 20 to 99 users the cost is $20.97 per month per extension.
  • All business plans include the same feature set, unlimited calling, and a free trial is available. They have a "Match any competitor quote" promise also. Businesses with 100+ users will need to contact them directly for custom pricing.
  • SIP trunking plans start at $29.97 per month.
  • All rates exclude any applicable taxes, regulatory fees and surcharges.

Overall Thoughts

Though a few bits of information are lacking, the company offers straightforward pricing and the standard set of VoIP service features. Residential customers have several options as do businesses, not to mention SIP trunking service is offered for custom systems. Anyone seeking a new communication system should strongly consider contacting this company to see if services are a good fit.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Mike Bragg


1-VoIP Overview

1-VoIP phone service has been around for many years. Originally under the name VoIP Your Life, they rebranded to VYLmedia, before changing the service brand name to 1-VoIP. User submitted reviews on this page include all brands for it's service.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 13)

Total Number 127 5 Stars 88
Thumbs Up 103 4 Stars 22
Thumbs Down 22 3 Stars 13
Average Rating 4.5 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 1

1-VoIP reviews are listed in chronological order.

Good

Overall rating (4.6)

#127 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

very happy with the service would recommend to friends and family, the only problem I experience is when I try to use my line as a fax also

Comment on this review >>

A Happy Customer

Overall rating (4.4)

#126 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

1-VOIPs customer service makes them standout. A human answers the call and their response to my small problems have been swift. Add this to the cost of their service, the call quality and unlimited calling to over 30 countries makes me a very happy customer. I am now paying less the half of the cost for just local calls from my old landline provider.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Len (May 29th, 2014) : I think 1-VoIP is excellent. Been using them over 5 years. Tech support is superb. You mention unlimited calling to 30 countries? Never ran across this feature. US/Canada is free and overseas fairly cheap, but free?

Comment on this review >>

It's a Better World

Overall rating (4.9)

#125 : OCT 29th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I switched from another VoIP provider to VYLmedia. Saving money was one issue but having a reliable connection for my home business and tech support that is available is what I need to grow my accounting business. VYLmedia customer service is just the answer for me. It doesn't matter whether I call at 8 am or 9pm, support is available. Granted, I do have to wait on hold longer than I like when calling but I guess I must hit "rush hour" when I call. What I like is that the person on the other end switched my features like I like and I didn't have to be transferred or get a manager's approval. I like that. It's such a better world now that I switched to VYLmedia.

Comment on this review >>

Poor Record keeping, Outages, Lost my Number!?

Overall rating (3.3)

#124 : MAY 17th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Wow! Canadaian User. Use VOIP for corporate rentals. Chose VYL because they appear to have their stuff together. I prepay for a year at a time. Been with VYL for over 2 years now. Last year they actually "lost" my number, and the phone was cut off for 6 months after I had paid for my year. Never got a refund until almost a year later. It seems customer service, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and Technical service have never communicated to eachother...ever. I have had several phone conversations, and now many of them backed up by email, and I am still having problems with this company. First... they told me they have a signed document requesting them to port my number to another company, but they cannot produce or show me this document which I allegedly signed because it is against some crazy law in america. Then they told me they chad retrieved my number...all in the same conversation. Hmmm... Although very apologetic sounding, they got my number back on line finally and did not issue me a refund for the outage. I finally was told I got one, and it was backed up with an email. Nothing extra for all of the trouble and time I had spent emailing, gathering records, and phoning. I used the refund credit and paid the remaining amount for another year. Less than a month later I have since received threatening emails saying my phone is going to be cut off for a delinquent account. 11 phone coversations with 7 different people, and 14 emails. The SAVINGS ARE NOT WORTH THE HEADACHE of trying to keep your phone working continuously. I do not recommend this company, and like the other guy from Dec 6 2011 says. I highly suspect it is the owner and management. Streamline your company man and get your Accounting Systems Matrixed. Pay the extra $800.00 per year you cheapskate, or it's going to kill your business.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Len (Jan 12th, 2014) : Very surprising. I too, am Canadian and have used 1-VoIP/VYL for a few years. Excellent service. Tech support is always available with minimal wait time. I heartily recommend the company. I have taken the adapter to FL and overseas on several occasions giving me home numbers in these other locations.

Comment on this review >>

Recommend VYL

Overall rating (4.6)

#123 : MAY 8th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had service with VYL for over 5 years now. Their customer service has always been great! Calling within the US and Canada is always reliable. Most of my overseas calls are to Korea and it is reliable 97-99 percent of the time. There have been about 7 times over the past 5 years when a call to Korea got dropped or the it would not call the phone in Korea at all (Note I call Korea almost every other day for about a hour or two at a time). At these times customer service has been very helpful determining what the issue was (usually outside of their control) and working to get it resolved as quickly as possible. Also, found out today, talking with customer service, that I can use a Bria app for Apple or Android and make a call using VYL service from my smartphone; just like you can with Vonage. Customer service provided all the settings I needed and it was easy to set up; app has a one time charge of $7.99. All in all based on my considerable time receiving service from VYL I recommend their service to others.

Comment on this review >>

1-VoIP Review

Overall rating (4.9)

#122 : FEB 9th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used VYLmedia for over 4 years and the service is very good. They actually have people that answer the phone at customer service and they have always been able to help me.

Comment on this review >>

1-VoIP Review

Overall rating (4.3)

#121 : DEC 9th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

They make it very easy to get started. I saved some money but not alot. I can say that customer service is much better than what I got from AT&T. Would recommend them if features are the main concern.

Comment on this review >>

1-VoIP Review

Overall rating (4.9)

#120 : OCT 12th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I originally thought their pricing was a little high but with the call quality I recieved and how easy it is to get started. I love it!!!

Comment on this review >>

1-VoIP Review

Overall rating (5)

#119 : JUL 25th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

1-VoIP is Awesome! The quality so really good. Customer service answers my questions and at this time not had any issues. Definitely recommend 1-VoIP

Comment on this review >>

1-VoIP Review

Overall rating (2.7)

#118 : MAY 27th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I left Vonage due to service and went to VYL. It is now over 2 years, they started out fine, but then the quality here on the West Coast was spotty! Their customer service and tech support has central time hours and spotty emergency service. Last September, I was not able to dial certain numbers which I had dialed the day before. The numbers varied per day. It was a routing issue from 1-Voip [never got an answer as to why this was happening]. They did tell me to upgrade to their new system, free of charge, but I would lose any voice mails saved on my current account. I needed to find a way to save the messages [some sentimental] - they offered NO suggestions. After constant calls to tech support and a new modem/box from 1-voip, a tech suggested they could set up a 1-voip account and transport my numbers until I could find a way to save my voice mails. THIS WAS GREAT .. but only after 6 months and over 45 calls to tech support. They sent me the new software and box and the quality was astounding compared to the old system. A big plus for me. However, the new system lost some features such as wake up call, still cannot have PST time on calls. Also, the caller id did not work for the first few months. I found that I could record the voice mails and load them onto my computer via a mini recorder and software. Yeah! I told them about it and they transported my numbers to the new account and number. I was to copy the voice mails in the next week. Voila, they cancelled the old number and ALL the voice mails were erased..they cannot retrieve them or the cost was too much on their end. [technology is there folks!]. ALL customer service could do was..SORRY... I got a free month while they corrected the caller id. Funny, while not being able to call numbers for over 6 months, I got NADA or we are sorry. Just an issue they were working on. Again, a 1-VOIP problem, yet I the customer was inconvenienced. LOL!! I then got a bill with the wrong number [correct address] which was not mine. I asked for a corrected bill and was told WE CANNOT REISSUE A BILL...hmmm. and on my website, under billing I get an error message wrong account and password, yet I can access ALL other areas, voice mail, call records, etc. Hmmm! Then, 1-VOIP suspended my account for nonpayment! I called and asked for a corrected bill and explanation so that I can pay and send a letter to them and Better Business. I was to receive it within a few minutes per customer service manager. Now, an hour later and StILL no invoice nor service. Amazed at the horrible customer service and spotty tech support. Am going elsewhere for service!! BEWARE!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 13
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 127 5 Stars 88
Thumbs Up 103 4 Stars 22
Thumbs Down 22 3 Stars 13
Average Rating 4.5 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 1

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.4)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: