WildBlue Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for WildBlue Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
WildBlue (2.1)
76 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 76 User submitted reviews >>

WildBlue Review by WhichVoIP

WildBlue Communications is an Internet service provider that uses satellite based communications to deliver its service. It was actually acquired by ViaSat in 2009, primarily as a means of going after the residential market. Available in all 50 states, this type of satellite based communication can be great for people in remote areas where Internet options are limited. The actual brand name for the Wildblue service is called Exede. The ViaSat-1 satellite was launched in October 2011. The ViaSat-2 is due to launch in 2016.

For additional background information on satellite service take a look at our article on VoIP over satellite service.

The Good

It is estimated that less than 25% of people in remote areas of the United States have access to the Internet. Satellite Internet from Wildblue helps address this problem. Pricing is reasonable, and really not too much higher than other technologies such as Cable and DSL, at least for the lower-end plans ($49.99/month).

WildBlue offers three tiers, the Liberty12 (12GB of data), Liberty18 (18GB of data) and the Freedom package (150GB of data). Each has a speed of up to 12 Mbps although for $10 more per month this jumps to 25 Mbps. Upload speeds for all packages are 3 Mbps. If you reach your data limit, the speed drops significantly (1 to 5 Mbps) but at least your Internet access continues.

Every account offers up to 10 email addresses, each providing up to 10GB of data storage for emails.

The Bad

When you sign up for service, you are locking yourself into a 24 month term. This is worth noting as many companies offer month to month contracts these days, although to be fair to WildBlue, the installation can often take up to 3 hours so some financial protection must be made.

The data allowance resets every month so no data is carried over. On the plus side, when you reach your allowance, no additional charges occur. Your speed of service is greatly reduced but your bill will not change, unless you add additional data of course.

Exede Voice is WildBlue's VoIP offering. We always have concerns with VoIP over satellite, as detailed in the article at the top of this review. However, WildBlue stands by its voice offering. Unfortunately it is expensive when compared with other VoIP providers you may see on our site. On the plus side, the voice traffic is not used against your data allowance.

The Bottom Line

  • Liberty12: $49.99/month. 12 Mb/s downlink, 3 Mb/s uplink. 12GB data allowance.
  • Liberty18: $69.99/month. 12 Mb/s downlink, 3 Mb/s uplink. 18GB data allowance.
  • Liberty Freedom: $99.99/month. 12 Mb/s downlink, 3 Mb/s uplink. 150GB data allowance.
  • Boost25: $10/month to boost to 25 Mbps for any plan.
  • Exede Voice: $29.99/month unlimited minutes USA/CAN. Note, not counted towards data allowance.
  • Fees: $199.99 pre-pay equipment fee or $9.99/month equipment lease fee over 24 months. $149.99 setup fee but look for special promotion of $100 off the setup fee.

Overall Thoughts

WildBlue is a decent solution for residential users in remote areas that need a basic Internet service. Downlink and uplink speeds are actually impressive for a satellite service and it is nice that all plans offer the same high speeds, as other competing providers typically vary the speed and the data allowance.

Depending on your timing, good deals can be obtained regarding setup and installation fees, often times it can be completely waived.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


WildBlue Overview

WildBlue Internet has been reviewed on WhichVoIP since 2008 and unfortunately the ratings and comments by users of the service have not been very favorable. Please let us know what you think of the service, using the "Write a Review" button on the right hand side,  and help others decide if it is a good choice for Internet service.

....bad customer service, bad connectivity, slow speeds....

...Weather is a problem with connection....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 8)

Total Number 76 1
Thumbs Up 5 2
Thumbs Down 70 17
Average Rating 2.1 42
More Providers 14

WildBlue reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.6)

#76 : SEP 1st, 2016 : (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Wildblue is horrible! They know they have you where they want you because it's the only game in town if your rural! Customer service is horrible. If you want to hear nothing but s script it's the place for you. I upgraded twice and pay a lot for better service and it's NEVER gotten better!

Overall rating (2)

#75 : FEB 6th, 2016 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I moved to an area where you can't have satellite service. When I went to shut off my service they would not forward my emails for any length of time and they wanted me to go up on the roof and get something off of the dish or I have to pay 100.00 for them to do it! I did not have that with either Dish or Direct TV.

Overall rating (2.1)

#74 : NOV 9th, 2015 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Their "new" e-mail provider has blocked servers due to spam. Guess who gets them? Currently Earthlink is blocking one of their IPs. I filled out a service request and they said it was up to Earthlink to fix it. Not their problem, and closed the request. I filed another and explained how IT WAS THEIR problem and haven't gotten a response yet. They have the worst service I have ever encountered in any business. If there was another option I would be gone. Unfortunately I understand Hughes Net is worse, if possible.

Overall rating (1)

#73 : JUN 23rd, 2015 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

My credit card was charged $890 and we never received any equipment or service. I spent last month on the phone with Wildblue, a total of 5 calls that were an hour each time - still no credit! The credit card company is having to be involved now. Awful experience.

Overall rating (2.6)

#72 : SEP 4th, 2014 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This service is terrible. Slow, slow, connection speed. The service provider also lies to you. We had a contract with Wild Blue, and we moved. We transferred our service to our new home. They charged us $300, even though we transferred their service. It took them 3 month to realize that they had made a mistake and refund our money. I recently called to cancel my service, after 2 years and was told that because I had moved, my service didn't actually transfer, but started over with another 2 year contract. When I called, the customer service representative told me that I clearly misunderstood that I was starting a new service and the only reason that my original $300 was refunded was because I remained a customer. Yet, they told me that my account transferred to my new address. I have paid the same amount of money, for the last 2 years, on the same account. The service is terrible and extremely slow, the customer service is terrible, and they are very rude when someone no longer wants their service. No one will get out of their service without paying additional fees. Any type of Internet service is better than Wild Blue. After the first 3 days, dial up is nearly just as fast

Overall rating (1)

#71 : JUN 26th, 2014 : (CT)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I recently called WildBlue to cancel my account May 2014. I was billed for the entire $79.95 for awful, slow service for the next month, through June 2014. Charging me for almost an entire month of services, when my account was cancelled. This was not disclosed to me when I called to cancel. After calling their customer service # and 4 supervisors later, they came back with the same answer. Keep in mind I was a customer for over 8 years and always paid my bill on time. This is completely unacceptable. I will be disputing my charges with my credit card. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this company.

Overall rating (1.6)

#70 : MAY 17th, 2014 : (OK)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Horrible. Just awful, everything is mortifying. The amount of usage available is extremely minimal. The connection is extremely slow and sometimes will not even load a page because it's taking so long. The customer service, not horrible, but you need to be willing to wait on hold for 20 minutes before you get ahold of a person. If you use netflix, forget it. There's no way you'll be able to use this service. I use my cell phone, and it's internet to browse because it's the only way I'm able to connect well enough to use the internet.

Overall rating (2.4)

#69 : JAN 10th, 2014 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Wild Blue sucks! They do not tell you, that if you watch 2 movies on Netflix you use about half of your data for the month, or if to go to YouTube you are done for the month. THAT SUCKS! They also put you on a TWO YEAR CONTRACT THAT I do not remember being told about. I know they must of told me but, they sure did not make a big point about it. This is my first review ever, that tells you how much I dislike Wild Blue service.

Overall rating (2.4)

#68 : JAN 6th, 2014 : (NC)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The reliability was spotty, often going out in light overcast weather, and sometimes in clear weather. After I had used it for a few months, the gigabyte usage suddenly went up causing overages and having to buy more usage even though my internet usage had not increased. Then, when the dish became unaligned, they wanter $95.00 for a service tech to come out and re-align it. I finally decided to have it disconnected and was charged over $200.00 for cancellation of the contract and charged for the remainder of the unused month and told there may be other charges pending. Had to hold on the phone for almost half an hour for a customer service rep to answer.

Overall rating (2.3)

#67 : SEP 18th, 2013 : (MN)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I was finally able to get a fiber optic cable hook-up. Wildblue does not give credit for unused part of a month. they once shut-off my connection because I had not signed a document that they never sent me or had asked me to sign. They just shut me off and I had to call and have them fax me the document so I could sign it and get my service back. Their speed is slow and ofter very poor. Only use them if you have no other choice and then know your experience will be horses--t.

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 76 1
Thumbs Up 5 2
Thumbs Down 70 17
Average Rating 2.1 42
More Providers 14

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
  • SHARE: