Verizon Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Verizon Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Verizon (2.4)
58 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 58 User submitted reviews >>

Verizon Review by WhichVoIP.com

Verizon Communications, Inc. was formed in the year 2000 as the result of a merger between Bell Atlantic Corp and GTE Corp and in 2004 it was added to the Dow Jones Industrial Average.

Alongside phone and television services, Verizon offers high speed internet (DSL) as well as fiber optic (FiOS) Internet for predominantly urban customers within range of the Verizon FiOS network. Verizon FiOS Internet has been rated #1 in overall tech support by PC Mag and has earned PC Mag's Reader's Choice Award 8 years in a row.

The Good

Verizon Communications, Inc. is a well-recognized and expansive business that offers service across the country. Verizon claims that it's fastest Internet plan available (500/100) can download a 5GB HD movie in under two minutes and upload 200 photos in 20 seconds. Though plans like these are expensive, Verizon online offers a wide range of options for customers of varying needs.

FiOS Internet is provided directly to your home through an isolated line. You do not share bandwidth with neighbors, which allows for service with more consistent speeds and uptime than broadband cable Internet.

Verizon WiFi is included with all plans 15/5 mbps and higher, allowing customers to connect wirelessly at over 5,000 WiFi hotspot locations.

Verizon online and phone support is available 24/7. Customers can chat with agents via their website or look for answers to common problems and troubleshooting via the Verizon online community forum.

The Bad

Customer complaints appear to be more frequent for High Speed Internet (DSL) service than for FiOS service. Most customer complaints appear to be focused on customer service issues and to a lesser extent connection issues. See our user reviews for more information (be aware of the 'Internet type' mentioned in the review).

Because fiber optic networks are not considered standard means of providing internet service in the current market, installation should be expected to take 4-6 hours. Customers are also expected to be home if service is requested, which tends to take a majority of a day as well. Customers have also noted scheduling problems when setting up service.

While Verizon's FiOS Internet offers competitive speeds and pricing, their DSL service does not. DSL customers are also forced to bundle with landline phone service. Verizon has been subject to accusations that they are attempting to 'kill' their DSL service in order to have people sign up with FiOS. However, FiOS service is not yet available in all areas currently served by DSL.

A termination fee will be charged and can range from $119 - $179 depending on your contract.

They have an activation fee of $49.99, which they tend to waive for new subscribers frequently.

Each plan is only available through a 2 year agreement. Expect to pay taxes, fees, and equipment and service charges on top of each plan.

The Bottom Line

Verizon offers 2 high speed internet (DSL) plans and 6 fiber optic (FiOS) plans. The best deals are offered within bundle plans, combining Internet, phone and television services together for a unified price.

DSL Plans:

  • High Speed Internet (1/.5 Mbps): $19.99/mo for 1 year. Verizon home phone service required at additional monthly fees.
  • Enhanced High Speed Internet (15/1.1 Mbps): $29.99/mo for 1 year. Verizon home phone service required at additional monthly fees.

FiOS Plans:

  • 15/5 Mbps: $49.99/mo for 1 year. $69.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 50/25 Mbps: $59.99/mo for 1 year. $79.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 75/35 Mbps: $69.99/mo for 1 year. $89.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 150/65 Mbps: $129.99/mo for 2 years. Premiere speed for serious Internet users using multiple devices performing high traffic internet activities.
  • 300/65 Mbps: $209.99/mo for 2 years. At this point, residential customers should never see any kind of slow down due to extensive, high volume Internet use.
  • 500/100 Mbps: $299/mo for 2 years. The fastest internet speed available. Ideal for lots of users and lots of devices simultaneously downloading, uploading, streaming, and sharing files.

Overall Thoughts

Verizon Communications, Inc. offers both DSL and FiOS services, with the FiOS service being the better of the two. DSL service has steadily declined in recent years and is difficult to recommend if there are better options, particularly for customers who don't want to bundle with a landline service. Along with Verizon wireless, FiOS has been a growing service over the last decade. Verizon's fiber optic Internet offers a viable option for those seeking an alternative to broadband cable Internet. FiOS service offers speeds and pricing on par with major competitors, which can be reduced further by bundling with other services, including TV. Customer service may not be ideal, and issues related to billing and technical service may be lacking, but compared to many other providers, Verizon offers an adequate support system.

Before agreeing to a contract, browse and compare what options are available in your area. Plus, take the time to read through some user reviews of Verizon Internet on WhichVoIP to get a better gauge of what others have experienced with the service.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Michael


Verizon Overview

The user reviews of Verizon Internet Service that have been posted on WhichVoIP since 2006 seem to indicate that a number of people are having a somewhat difficult experience.

....continual issues with our service over the past few years....

...worst service I have ever used....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 6)

Total Number 58 4
Thumbs Up 8 4
Thumbs Down 49 13
Average Rating 2.4 30
More Providers 7

Verizon reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.7)

#58 : MAY 19th, 2016 : (UT)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Right from the beginning Verizon was deceitful. I ordered Internet Jetpack and phone service. I was told there would be a $175 cancellation fee if I cancelled early. When I first got the service it worked fine. After about 1 month the service got worse and worse. It went from 4g to 3g to 1g then no service. I called many times and all they would do is reset the Jetpack. I asked for a replacement and they said each time lets just reset the Jetpack again. I finally cancelled the service. So the bill comes and there are 2 cancellation fees, 1 for each device (they did not want me to return the equipment, no just charge the fees). I told them that I was not told that the cancellation fee was 1 for each device. I was told too bad. Just pay and go away. Be very careful if you do business with Verizon they are very sneaky when you are shopping and do not disclose all the dirty little details.

Overall rating (1)

#57 : FEB 26th, 2016 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Verizon is worse than NetZero. Horrible customer service and the billing department is next to none when it comes to correcting their idiotic bills.

Overall rating (1)

#56 : FEB 9th, 2016 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is crap! I spent almost 2 hours just trying to make a payment so I wouldn't get ripped off for $3.50, and I finally just got tired of being transferred from one idiot to the next. So I paid the $3.50! There! You happy Verizon? Buy yourself some breakfast. You're no better than the airlines charging people for bags.

Overall rating (3.3)

#55 : JAN 26th, 2016 : (MD)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been having the same problem for 4 weeks now! And nobody seems to know anything but to get the annoyed lady off the phone. Technical support is scheduled to be here during the timeframe of 8 - 12. But when I called customer service they told me 5:15 - 6:15. This will be the fourth tech to come out. Not acceptable for a recurring issue that I have to call every week about. I never wanted to write a bad review more than now. I haven't had services since last week Wednesday! I'm so about to cancel my services! I deserve a credit for all of last week since I had to call Monday and Wednesday. Today is Tuesday and I still don't have services! Talk about being very annoyed! Next I will be filing complaints everywhere.

Overall rating (1)

#54 : OCT 15th, 2015 : (MA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We have been trying to work with Verizon for about a month trying to get service and then not getting what was promised. We were told that we would be getting FIOS. After the installation was done, we asked the installer about the FIOS and he laughed at us and said, dream on. No FIOS here. So, extremely slow speed on Internet and the phone is awful. Customer service stinks. We are being charged for FIOS and don't have it. It's always something new. It's our fault, it's the phone lines, it's the wind or rain or something else. I live in the U.S. I speak English but have yet to talk to a customer service agent that can speak good English. I am done!

Overall rating (1.1)

#53 : SEP 18th, 2015 : (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The tech will come to your house and check your Internet speeds. Then say your Internet speed is just under what is legally considered "High speed". But it is considered acceptable. As soon as evening comes.... it slows down even more. I did an update that would have taken no more than 45 minutes with Comcast. It took over 12 hours. I am doing an update now that would have taken no more than 10 minutes with Comcast... it's been almost 2 hours. I have no idea when this will be done. An average size phone app will sometimes take up to an hour to install, when 20 to 30 minutes is normal for this service. I am regretting the move to DiretTV, because it came with Verizon Internet. DirectTV says it may be some time before AT&T gets to us. I have heard they are not much better. But I don't care... this is the worst!

Overall rating (2.6)

#52 : JUL 21st, 2015 : (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had two computers, three modems and the tech here nine times and still the internet shuts off.

Overall rating (2.6)

#51 : DEC 20th, 2014 : (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been using a 3Mbps Internet plan for a long time now, and some times they drop down the speed, and then it goes back to 3Mbps after I contact customer service. Recently they dropped down my speed again, so I contacted customer service again, but this time they told me that it is my max speed, and asked me to switch to FiOS. I told them I had 3Mbps speeds before for a long time, and they have not answered me for five minutes. I asked again and they keep telling me that this lower speed is my max speed. Very bad customer service.

Overall rating (1.5)

#50 : DEC 5th, 2014 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I signed up for service and my mistake was not realizing they charged the full amount "Pre-Paid". In the confirmation window it states that you will receive an email receipt of your purchase, of which I never received. When I called three days later they could not find me in there system. REALLY?! Then after 20 minutes of searching with different search criteria they finally found me. There were no apologies given for not sending a receipt via email. I was then told that I would get immediately after the call an email stating the cancelation process and a note would be added to my account. AGAIN! I never got the email. After the package arrived I immediately did a "return to sender" and after two weeks of no activity I had to call once more and go through the song and dance of we can't find you. I was promised an email again. Very poor experience and would never recommend them.

Overall rating (1.4)

#49 : NOV 17th, 2014 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Terrible internet service; down more than up. We have VERIZON internet service SOMETIMES! HALF THE TIME! MAYBE? Spent hours and I do mean hours on the phone with the fine folks, the techies, who get my internet running again promising it won't happen again. They are genuinely helpful! BUT I still have service less than half the time. I've become an expert at getting my service back by myself. I could work as a techie for VERIZON, but I shouldn't have to. I've heard 100's of excuses and so have friends of mine who have poor VERIZON service.

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 6
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 58 4
Thumbs Up 8 4
Thumbs Down 49 13
Average Rating 2.4 30
More Providers 7

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
  • SHARE: