Norton trust seal
BBB logo

Verizon Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Verizon Internet service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
Verizon 47 (2.6) 17%

Verizon Internet Service Overview

Verizon was formed in the year 2000 as the result of a merger between Bell Atlantic Corp and GTE Corp and in 2004 it was added to the Dow Jones Industrial Average. Being such a large and prestigious company, you expect to receive the very best products and services. When it comes to high speed Internet, Verizon states on its website that you should choose its service because it is great value for money, runs on a 99.9% reliable network and it offers consistently fast upload and download speeds. The user reviews of Verizon Internet Service that have been posted on WhichVoIP since 2006, do however seem to indicate that a number of people are having a somewhat different experience, to what is stated on the website.

There are four different tiers of Internet service offered by Verizon. The basic service states speeds of 0.5 to 1 Mbps for downloads and 384 Kbps for Uploads. The Enhanced service comes in three different flavors ranging from 1.1 all the way up to 15 Mbps download speeds. The two faster speed enhanced plans are only available in select locations. All plans include up to nine email accounts and 10MB of personal web space and the enhance plan also includes wi-fi hotspot access which means the router/modem that is supplied will be wi-fi enabled.

....continual issues with our service over the past few years....

...worst service I have ever used....


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 5)

Verizon Internet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.6)

#47 : APR 6th, 2014 : Kensington resistance (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 3 to 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I have Verizon Internet and it becomes worse by the day. I have Internet 3 hours then it doesn't work. I call them, they fix it and then it doesn't work again. This time I need to wait for a person to fix it so no Internet for 3 days. Finally they come to fix it and then few hours later again no Internet. Keeps on repeating for 6 months now but to take my money they know very nicely how to every month. I'm disgusted by this service, it stinks I pay for nothing.

Overall rating (2)

#46 : FEB 1st, 2014 : CaroleD (NJ)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I have been unable to log into my Verizon email. Sometimes it takes three or four tries. I can log into my gmail and iCloud accounts immediately. Then, after only a couple of minutes, Verizon times me out. In the short time it takes me to check off 5 or 6 emails I want to delete, I get the following message, in red - Unable to load /webmail/driver?nimlet=deleteemail status:0. I also get timed out in the middle of replying to an email and it?s the same on all three computers we use. One is a brand new Apple MacBook Pro, so the support excuse that my computer is slow isn?t valid. Comcast has a plan where I will save a bundle and have better email service if I switch to them. I use Verizon for my cell phone but I can have much a cheaper service going with someone else. If they can?t fix the log in and respond and timed out problems, I definitely will be switching to COMCAST.

Overall rating (2.1)

#45 : DEC 29th, 2013 : Tom (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I've gone from 3g to 4g trying to get reliable service. not only has the service not improved, including speed, the cost has skyrocketed. All they can tell me is something is happening in the background that I have no way to track or fix. My cost has gone from about $35 to over $250 Per month. they have no help or explainable solutions. Bad service and out of control cost. You do not want to even try this service.

Overall rating (1.6)

#44 : SEP 15th, 2013 : Lance (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • FiOS (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

After using this service for a long time, I want to say.... THIS SUCKS! We will frequently drop internet, and if we are connected, it is so slow! We try to call them, but end up on hold for like three hours. And they offer a new modem which will "fix the problem", but they always send the same modem, which does not work anyway. I do not recommend this service to anybody.

Overall rating (1.9)

#43 : SEP 12th, 2013 : Carole I. (NJ)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Modem:

Overall rating (2.3)

#42 : JUL 22nd, 2013 : Skully7 (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

always down or real slow

Overall rating (1.9)

#41 : JUL 12th, 2013 : Art (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Westell 6100

You you want to deal with a company that has a different story ever time you call, that charges you for service your not getting, that is unrealizable, and will not make good on their mistakes then this your provider. For over 6 years I have had intermittent problems with my service. I was paying or 3mbs during this time. Somewhere along the line to rectify my problems they reduced my speed to the next lower service without notification or price reduction. When I had another issue they told me I should be getting higher speed service and up the service speed. Since I had been receiving the lower cost service I thought I was owed a refund. Verizon felt after years of paying for a service I was not getting they would give me one months credit. I thought this an insult and wrote a letter to corporate. They never even had the courtesy to reply. Ok so now I am at the 3mbs and constantly loosing the connection. After repeated call I find out that the line to my house is not capable of supporting the higher speed of 3mbs and this is the reason why I was probably drop to the lower speed. I figured over the years of service I was overcharged somewhere between $360 and $720 dollars. BTW 3MBS is not a very fast speed. Unfortunately my area does not have a lot of choice for provider and Verizon does not offer FIOS. Bottom line if you want poor service this is your provider. Good luck/

Overall rating (2.3)

#40 : JUL 2nd, 2013 : R (MA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 15 to 20 days
  • Modem:

I highly discourage anyone from using Verizon Internet. We have had continual issues with our service over the past few years and spent countless hours on the phone with technical support often with the same issue occurring days later. On two occasions we had to have a technician come to our home to service the line. They expect you to be available and home from work for the entire day as they say they will come between something like 8am and 5pm. To top it off they frequently allege having no record of our previous calls and have no respect for the customer. Today they accused me of lying about a credit to my account that was promised last Wednesday when I spoke to technical support. They actually claimed my line was working despite the fact that a new modem was sent to us on Thursday.

Overall rating (2.1)

#39 : JUN 27th, 2013 : Bob (OH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I had multiple prob w/ the service- it kept charging for data when it wasn't even turned on. Service is terrible - Verizon expects you to keep problem solving even when you've tried everything - they say "well - I have no idea why this isn't working - I'm grabbing at straws but let's try this..." I easily spent 5-8 hours a month trying to get the service working. Run - don't walk- from this Provider

Overall rating (5)

#38 : JUN 12th, 2013 : Dr. Kofi (MO)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Business)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:
  • Not sure

Verizon service is exceptional. I have not yet experienced any problems with their system. Consequently, I do not know what else to say.

  • Page 1 of 5
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Verizon Internet Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 47 4
Recommended: YES 8 4
Recommended: NO 38 9
Average Rating 2.6 28
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 2