Time Warner Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Time Warner Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Time Warner (2.3)
33 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 33 User submitted reviews >>

Time Warner Cable Internet Service Review by WhichVoIP.com

Time Warner Cable (TWC) is an Internet Service Provider (ISP) covering 29 states of the USA, including California, Texas and New York; the three most populous states in the USA. In total, they provide cable service to 41% of all TV households and many of those households also subscribe to Internet service. Previous to 2012, TWC Internet service was provided under the moniker, 'Road Runner'. In February 2014, the company announced plans to merge with Comcast, a merger that would create the largest cable ISP in the country.

The Good

Time Warner Cable offers a wide range of pricing tiers, with value plans and high-end plans. Their Ultimate plan breaks the century mark for megabits per second at a lower cost than many other ISP providers.

Subscribers to the mid-tier service and above are provided free access to a large network of TWC Wi-Fi hotspots (250,000+ locations). Other subscribers can pay for an access pass if they would like to use the network while on the go.

Support is available through online chat or by calling a regional helpline. Limited FAQ's, resources and tutorials are available on the national website. Support for self-installs and billing is available by visiting a TWC Store location.

Customers who bundle Internet service with television service can stream shows through Internet connected devices.

Online security software and email hosting are standard features included with subscription (no extra fees).

The plans include unlimited Internet usage unlike many other ISPs which impose a monthly usage limit, and they claim no overage penalties.

The Bad

The monthly rates do not include the modem/Wi-Fi router. These are available at additional fees or you can buy your own modem. Be sure to browse their approved list of devices though before purchasing your own equipment.

If you terminate your service while under a price lock guarantee period then fees may apply.

Overall download and upload speeds are slower than other national and regional cable ISP providers.

Common complaints in user reviews include inconsistent service quality, poor customer support and delays in technician service.

The Bottom Line

General Info:

  • Each plan comes with Internet security software (McAfee) and parental controls.
  • Plans can be bundled with either television and/or VoIP phone service.
  • Prices and package options vary between regions.
  • Plans may be available with or without a contract.
  • Access to TWC Wi-Fi hotspots is included with plans at the Standard tier and above, and are available at over 250,000 locations nationwide, with most concentrated around major cities. TWC Wi-Fi hotspots can be located by use of a supporting app available for users of Android and iOS mobile devices.
  • Promotional rates are typically $5 less than standard monthly rates for the first 12 months of service.

Available Plans:

  • Every Day Low Price: Up to 2Mbps download, up to 1Mbps upload, and 5 email accounts (100MB of email storage included) for $14.99 per month for the first 12 months.
  • Basic: Up to 3Mbps download, up to 1Mbps upload, and 5 email accounts (100MB email storage included) for $29.99 per month for first 12 months.
  • Standard: Up to 15Mbps download, up to 1Mbps upload, 10 email accounts (2GB email storage included), plus access to TWC Wi-Fi hotspots for $34.99 per month for first 12 months.
  • Turbo: Up to 20Mbps download, up to 2Mbps upload, 25 email accounts (5GB email storage included), plus access to TWC Wi-Fi hotspots for $44.99 per month for first 12 months.
  • Extreme: Up to 30Mbps download, up to 5Mbps upload, 25 email accounts (10GB email storage included), access to TWC Wi-Fi hotspots, plus no additional charge for Wi-Fi modem for $54.99 per month for first 12 months.
  • Ultimate: Up to 100Mbps download, up to 5Mbps upload, 30 email accounts (10GB email storage included), access to TWC Wi-Fi hotspots, plus no additional charge for Wi-Fi modem for $64.99 per month for first 12 months.

Equipment Fees:

  • Modem only (No Wi-Fi): $5.99/mo rental fee and is available for all plans.
  • Modem + Wi-Fi Router: $5.99/mo to Extreme or Ultimate plan users (same price as modem only option) or $11.94/mo for all other plans.

Overall Thoughts

Time Warner is the second largest ISP in the country. In some areas, they are the only cable ISP available. Service and support quality is mixed and many complaints note poor customer support and billing issues. Having to lease a modem or Wi-Fi modem from TWC increases the overall monthly cost.

TWC's main selling points as an ISP are its variety of service tiers at competitive prices. The cheapest offered service level, the Every Day Low Price plan, is cheaper than many other providers' basic plan, and the 100Mbps Ultimate plan is considerably cheaper than other 100+Mbps services. Bundling with other TWC services can further reduce costs. However, cheaper rates seem to come at the cost of lower speeds and less features than most other cable ISP's. Those looking for high speed Internet service would be wise to explore their options fully before committing to Time Warner Cable.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Michael


Time Warner Overview

Over 80% of people that have submitted reviews of Time Warner Internet did not recommend the service. If you agree with this trend or have a more favorable opinion, please let us know by adding your own review of the service.

....have had issues with the Internet speeds....

...less than helpful customer support.....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 4)

Total Number 33 1
Thumbs Up 5 2
Thumbs Down 28 9
Average Rating 2.3 15
More Providers 5

Time Warner reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (2)

#33 : JUN 16th, 2016 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

For nearly two years I have had repeated problems with loss of Internet connection. At TWC's suggestion we bought a new modem. We bought a new router with a booster. Even so, if I am on the Internet for 30 minutes I will probably be kicked off 6 or 7 times. When I called today threatening too take my service elsewhere, the technician said he was "boosting your signal by 150%" and that I should see distinct improvement once I restarted the modem and router. I did so, and it's just as bad as before. Go on their website and see if you can easily find a number to call to complain. Good luck!

Overall rating (2.9)

#32 : APR 3rd, 2016 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Back in 7/15 TWC Marketing came up with a plan to rename the TWC Standard package to Extreme (most likely to justify increasing the monthly rate) and began claiming customers would see faster speeds up to 50 Mbps download/5 Mbps upload - what I have since learned is that speed tests only measure the Speed Capacity of the Pipe, not the speed users will actually receive. More than one TWC customer service rep has told me I'm only getting about 1/4 of what TWC promises and in reality recent speeds are download 13.7 Mbps and upload 5.83-6.0 Mbps as measured by MyConnection PC Lite (free for home users). Customer service reps usually try their best to help but TWC engineers have repeatedly closed trouble tickets w/o the issue being resolved basing their actions on Speed test results as "proof" customers are getting the quality of service paid for. However another test, Pingtest, shows more reliable results: and since 8/15 Pingtest regularly returns B- and C+ ratings for TWC and indicates VOIP and online apps will suffer. Higher tier tech support persons (plural) have advised they can see the signal is "wildly fluctuating" even after multiple techs have been sent out to check and work on the lines. In spite of multiple service appointments, VOIP and cell phones using WiFi still ID ongoing "weak signal" even within inches of the modem and data reception is sluggish/call quality is often distorted (if the call goes through at all). By all means, feel free to share this review with Time Warner - both TWC repair technicians and other TWC customers in this area advise my experience is not unique.

Overall rating (1.4)

#31 : FEB 20th, 2016 : (KS)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Everything is very slow. You can't watch some video reports as they are jumpy and slow and sometimes you just have to leave it because it is so slow. Google is presently putting in cable and I will go with them as quickly as they are available.

Overall rating (1.9)

#30 : OCT 12th, 2015 : (NH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

It is constantly buffering Internet news programs and videos. The email service is the slowest I have ever seen and I have had dial-up in the past. Constant freezing is really getting on my nerves. If you have another option take it.

Overall rating (0)

#29 : SEP 6th, 2015 : (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Tried to change my wifi name and password, the tech from Guam could not figure it out and now I can't use my other devices for wifi. He said "sorry and goodbye", OMG!

Overall rating (2.4)

#28 : APR 14th, 2015 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Pros are when it works, it is fast. The chat help is a nice feature, however they are limited in what they can do, view etc.
Con's are that it took hours in chat, phone, and two Tech visits to fix a problem I was having where both my upload and download speeds dropped to unusable speeds at the same time every evening. I had to purchase Ping Plotter to prove to them that the problem was on their side not mine. I upload a lot of data, and the frequent drops are becoming unbearable.

Overall rating (4.6)

#27 : JAN 22nd, 2015 : (OH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am not satisfied with the steady upward creeping of the cost of the bundled services - especially when the company offers new users the same service I have for under a $100.

Overall rating (3.1)

#26 : JUN 27th, 2014 : (KY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had Time Warner for a year and a half then decided to drop cable tv and phone with them. I called and told them what we were doing and dropped my 3 cable boxes in at the local office, which doesn't have a phone. I did this before the start of the new billing cycle and they said they would disconnect it in a couple days. Three weeks later we saw that they had billed us for all three services and even after an hour on the phone with them all they want to do is pro rate the charge which means paying for all 3 items even though they said they would disconnect it. So I haven't got the final bill yet but I'm betting they won't make a change and drop the charge for the phone and cable TV which means about 100 dollars in unauthorized charges. It's this kind of tactic that gives them such a bad reputation. I did my part and acted in good faith and just because they didn't do their job they want to continue billing me for something I'm not using. I refuse to be a victim here and will take it up with everybody at TW until I get satisfaction on the matter. The nerve of these people. How unethical can they get?

Overall rating (1)

#25 : DEC 28th, 2013 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Time Warner cable internet service sucks. I am moving just so I can get anything else.

Overall rating (2.1)

#24 : OCT 19th, 2013 : (SC)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a customer over 2 years now and service is terrible! I've had nothing but problems and they even blamed MY phone and MY tv for some problems...they broke my other tv and said it was already loose...then bill keeps getting higher and higher...they kept charging for info calls we did not make so I had to block it so they couldn't anymore! Nothing but problems and I would not ever get this service provider again!

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 4
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 33 1
Thumbs Up 5 2
Thumbs Down 28 9
Average Rating 2.3 15
More Providers 5

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
  • SHARE: