Norton trust seal
BBB logo

HughesNet Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for HughesNet Internet service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
HughesNet 39 (2.2) 10%

HughesNet Internet Service Overview

HughesNet provide a Satellite Internet Service covering the whole of the USA. As it does not matter where you live in the USA, for example rural areas, Satellite service helps connect people that have no alternatives like DSL or Cable available. HughesNet have been developing Satellite technology for over 40 years now and the satellites providing Internet service are in geosynchronous orbit (meaning they rotate at the same speed of the earth so appear in the same spot). There is a fraction of delay associated with this type of service but for data purposes (internet surfing) this latency (as its known) is not a big issue.

Satellite Internet plans tend to be based on the amount of data transfer (how much information you download per month) as well as speed (Mbps). Plans can range between around $50 per month to $100 per month (after any introductary offers). Plans need to be selected carefully based on what type of usage you expect (simple web browsing up to streaming video) due to the data transfer limits per month. Also note that all plans require a 24-month commitment and some may require installation fee's, depending on current promotions.

With over 35 reviews submittted by users of the Hughesnet Satellite Internet service since 2007 there is a good selection and sample size to help potential customers. Overall, the average user rating is "Poor" with a lower than 10% recommended score. Many reviews cite high termination fee's, slow or throttled speeds, and customer service as the main issues. Have your say and write a review today!

...I have no complaints about the productivity and connection of Hughesnet. My beef is with the customer service and billing....

...This service is the worst internet service I have ever used....


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 4)

HughesNet Internet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (3.1)

#39 : NOV 4th, 2013 : Jim (TN)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I've read all the comments listed here and back in the time frame of these comments, yes hughesnet was not a good service. I've been a Hughes customer since 2005. First modem was HN7000S. Had one failure of the modem and they replaced it since I bought the entire system. Other than the ups & downs of satellite communications, I got was I paid for. My monthly cost was $69.99. I recently (as of April) upgraded to the new Gen4 system. This I rented even though the cost was only $150 to upgrade, I opted to lease. My cost now including the speed which is the Pro and lease rate is $91.77. The new Gen4 satellite is fast. Now something everyone may not know, Hughes was bought by Dish. Dishnet is really Hughesnet under another name. Excede put up a new satellite and Hughes went to the same manufacture and had an exact satellite built for them and named it Gen4. They are now offering VOIP also. I haven't tried it yet, still reading up on this. If I go to the Hughes offering I'll update the review. What most people don't understand is that the signal needs to go 22,000 miles up and then down again to the ops center, with a return back to your pc the same way. That takes time, you can't beat the laws of physics. The only thing I can say is if you want faster, move closer to town where DSL and Cable is offered. Now there tech support leaves a whole lot to deal with. Yes there just a bunch of script readers. Having been in the communications end for 30 plus years, I just tell them to close the book and listen to what I say and then connect me with level 3 support. Sometimes you will get a person who knows his/her stuff but rarely. IMHO all call centers should be brought back to the USA. Enough said.

Overall rating (2.3)

#38 : FEB 24th, 2013 : Connie (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 3 to 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

We had to move and hughesnet couldnot provide service at our new address so charged us for a early turmanation fee of over $300. WE DID NOT TERMANATE THEY DID BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT GET SIGNAL. UNFAIR

Overall rating (3.9)

#37 : NOV 16th, 2012 : Melissa (MS)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Modem:

I have no complaints about the productivity and connection of Hughesnet. My beef is with the customer service and billing. Problems started before we even got hooked up. The contractor who was supposed to hook us up, changed our appt. day. They said they called us and left a message, but that was a lie. So re-scheduled, another day off work. Got it hooked up, no problems. Tried to set up the online account so we could get email, we are in month two, and that STILL does not work. Hughesnet keeps saying its a problem on their end with the set up, and they will call us back...they never do. This week my bill was due again. I finally figured out how to go to the site to do that, but then I discovered that instead of $65 a month as I was TOLD when I signed up, my bill is now $77. Everytime I call, and press 1 for "billing" i get a recording that says "experiencing high calling volume please call back later"....for two days I get this recording. finally, i just started hitting the zero until it finally connected me to a live body, they shoot me to billing. you guessed it, i got the recording. I called back, hitting the zero till i get a live person, they shoot me to billing, I got disconnected. After this happened 3 times I gave up for the day. Today, I tried again. Started hitting the zero until I got connected to a live person, and asked them why my bill is $12 more than what I was told. I was informed that the $12 is for equipment insurance, because if the equipment breaks down it could cost hundreds of dollars to fix. with the insurance it's $29.00. I said, "so let me get this straight...I'm paying Hughesnet $12 for insurance in case YOUR equipment breaks down, and YOU have to come to my house and work on YOUR equipment that I am renting by the way" and he said "thats pretty much it". *blank stare crickets chirping* So i told him that when i signed up for it, i was never told about that, it was never even eluded to. We are on a tight budget, $12 is 5 days worth of gas in my car. Had I known i would not have signed up. I told him that Hughesnet needs to let customers know that, and disclose all information, anything less is covert and under-handed. he agreed. but yet, i'm still locked in for a year, and really have no choice but to pay the $12 even though its not required. Even though we are very happy with the connection and speed and the overall performance, when my year agreement is up, I'm switching to something else.

Overall rating (1)

#36 : SEP 27th, 2012 : Jim (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

This service is the worst internet service I have ever used. I strongly recommend that all new customers consider other services. There is no support with the service if something goes wrong. After one year I still do not have email service. I have contacted hughes net about the problem and they do not care to answer my concerns. If I operated by business in this fashion I would be out of business.

Overall rating (2.6)

#35 : SEP 20th, 2012 : Kathy (OR)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

HughesNet has added so many users to their one satellite that the service has over the term of our 24 month contract become slower and slower and at this point it is very slow and also intermitent. For the last 3 months we have had to phone tech support because we caould not access the web. When contacting customer support you end up on many frustrating calls with the level 1 Indian representatives until eventually they provide a US number for tech support (higher level). Several more phone calls to level 4 with promises to return phone calls and solve problems but no return calls. Now we have come to understand that Hughes has launched a new 2nd satellite and will offer an upgrade for $149. to their customers to transfer service to the new satellite. Unhappy customers like us, who have wasted many hours trying to understand why we cannot consistently access the internet and have been frustrated for months, now can either pay more money for the upgrade (good money after bad???) or wait until people are moved and supposedly our service will get better - we might actually be able to access the web again??

Overall rating (2.3)

#34 : SEP 20th, 2012 : Ed (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Was quoted $39 over phone. Ended up being $64 on first bill. "VERY" slow. I could eat lunch waiting for my home page to come up. "VERY" slow gaming. I finally gave up on that one. Called tech support,,,,not much help. When I cancelled afetr 25 days, they offered to up my speed to 10mbps at same price. NO!!! I did not bite at that one. Now have Time Warner, GREAT!!!! Wouls "NEVER" recommebd this provider (HughsNet)to anyone. BEWARE!!!!!

Overall rating (1.9)

#33 : SEP 17th, 2012 : Alexandra (AL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

Unfortunately, we don't have any other ISP options (other than dial-up) available to us other than HughesNet. They're the worst. The Internet connection is unreliable - we loose it every time it rains and sometimes for no reason at all. In the evening it slows down so much it's like a dial-up. It take me 30 minutes to write a couple of ads for Craig's list and upload a couple of pictures. Talking to HughesNet tech support is painful. There are just a bunch of Indians with manuals that will tell you to unplug your modem for a minute. That's pretty much all they ever recommend for any kind of problem. When we get cable I think I'm going to cry.

Overall rating (2)

#32 : SEP 13th, 2012 : Donna (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

I was told this would be faster than dsl and literally its as slow as dialup!

Overall rating (1.9)

#31 : SEP 11th, 2012 : Gail (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Modem:

When their equipment fails like my modem, they charged me for shipping and handling. I'm renting their equipment and when it faiks I feel they should pay the shipping and handling not me. This is such a terrible internet service. Whenyou order it , you arenot given full details od fair access policy or termination fees until you want to terminate or go over your fair access policy. For the price it should be unlimted internet access and downloads like cheaper monthly internet services.

Overall rating (1.7)

#30 : SEP 10th, 2012 : Tom (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Satellite (Business)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Do not under any circumstances use HughesNet. Indian support services are terrible. Over an hour on one call and 5 different supervisors. Service was never what we signed for. $250.00 cancellation fee. We will also contact the better business.

  • Page 1 of 4
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

HughesNet Internet Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 39 0
Recommended: YES 4 4
Recommended: NO 35 6
Average Rating 2.2 25
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 4