Norton trust seal
BBB logo

EarthLink Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for EarthLink Internet service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
EarthLink 11 (2.4) 9%

EarthLink Internet Service Overview

EarthLink, founded in 1994, is a household name when it comes to Internet service. Internet offerings include dial up Internet, broadband Cable Internet, high-speed DSL, freestanding DSL (does not require phone service subscription), Satellite Internet and Wireless Internet on-the-go (4G, with coverage spanning 29 States currently).

User submitted reviews of the EarthLink Internet service go back as far as 2006 below. Unfortunately though there is a low volume of reviews and also a high percentage of negative reviews with a recommended score of less than 10%. Similar to other larger broadband companies a common theme throughout the review comments are bad experiences with customer service, with majority of reviewers rating CS as only a 1 or 2 star.

Have you used EarthLink internet services recently? If so we would appreciate your feedback for others to read. Just complete our 2 minute review form, accessible from links on this page.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 2)

EarthLink Internet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (2.4)

#11 : SEP 3rd, 2012 : Kristie (TN)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Other (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

I used Earthlink only for email. At one time they were a great company, but in the past several years they have gone downhill fast. I called to tell them that my email wasn't working and that I had sent myself an email from my other account and never got it, but I got a customer service rep that tells me "No one sent you an email." That's one of the best reps I've gotten. I've cancelled my service (did it the same day that it was due) but they won't refund me the fee. So, I'm stuck with them for a few more days.

Overall rating (2.4)

#10 : JUL 10th, 2012 : David (MO)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Business)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

Internet support group is clueless as to their own accounts. Appears that the Customer Service group and the Support group have poor to zero communication. Support shows the Account De-activated and the the Customer service group has it as Active. Customer service has the correct information as to location, Support can't find the thing. Stay away from earthlink at all costs.

Overall rating (2.4)

#9 : APR 30th, 2009 : Mark (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • Netopia Cayman 3300 (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

after six years modem quit, after dozens of calls to service over a period of 5 days and no resolution i hired an IT person to inspect, Modem was bad, I requested they send a new modem they would not do so without paying for a new one plus shipping + signing a new one year contract. Insulting to the intelligence at the very least. Switched to AT&T , Free modem, no shipping charge, no contract $ 10.00 a month less for same service, EarthLink could not understand why i would switch.. no apologies and terribly rude service contacts. Stay away from EarthLink

Overall rating (1.4)

#8 : FEB 12th, 2009 : Steve (IN)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

EarthLink will rip you off! Don't use them. I have been over charged again and again. They slam you and put extra services on your account, and will not credit your account back (even though they can't prove you ordered their crap). EarthLink as an ISP was really bad, the speed, software, and customer service was horrible, inconsistent, and riddled with problems. I switched to At&T and then Comcast when I moved around, but kept my EarthLink e mail address. Last time I contacted EarthLink to have incorrect charges removed, I received a response ?WE (EarthLink) WILL NOT CREDIT ANY ACCOUNT CHARGES OVER 30 DAYS". Look out!

Overall rating (2.6)

#7 : OCT 7th, 2007 : Gaylene (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • zyxtel (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

They had been over charging me and didn't want to give me a refund until I asked for a supervisor. Internet down at least once a week. Very hard to understand. I have switched to another internet provider even though still paying EarthLink...can not get out on contract without paying $150.00 early termination fee, even though I have been with them 2 years!!! My contract kept changing because I moved service from my office to my home!! DO NOT USE EARTHLINK.

Overall rating (2.6)

#6 : JUL 18th, 2007 : SC (FL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • speedstream 5260 (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

I was just out 2 full days. Tech support is a joke, you cant understand them and you talk to 10 agents and get 10 different answers. They never admit to having an outage or a problem. Well after 2 days it magically came back on. So I wonder who's issue this was

Overall rating (2.7)

#5 : JUN 17th, 2007 : Romacm40 (MA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • Motorola surfboard (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

Daily interruptions, every hour on the hour. Tech support is a joke, once you get in to them. You cannot understand them. most use cue cards. They all deny ever hearing of a problem such as mine , however ,several friends are having the very same problems. Now they just put me on hold until I hang up. I would never recommend them. If your considering them, first check around (friends ,internet) for problems first.

Overall rating (4.4)

#4 : JUN 3rd, 2007 : Mary (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Type:
  • (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

I got this with Earthlink True Voice. I have a wireless cable modem and the service is really fast and really cheap! I'm only paying a little over $40 a month including tax and everything for both phone and Internet service which is great. I've only had it since the beginning of May but I've never had an interruption in my service. Earthlink's phone customer service is awful but the online people are really good.

Overall rating (1.4)

#3 : APR 3rd, 2007 : Carla (LA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 1 Year
  • Internet Type:
  • Netopia (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

The live chat customer service reps are horrible they tell you anything to get you off the net. And when I call customer service and tech support I always get someone that I don't understand. They are a horrible internet provider and I wouldn't recommend anyone to them and you don't get your monies worth.

Overall rating (2.1)

#2 : NOV 11th, 2006 : Judy (OH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • ZyXEL (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:
  • Residential

Numerous times dealing with tech support and customer service and after nine months of paid service am still having intermittent problems. Customer service lies and tries to get out of contracts and tech support is a joke.

  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

EarthLink Internet Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 11 0
Recommended: YES 1 1
Recommended: NO 9 3
Average Rating 2.4 5
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 2