AT&T Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for AT&T Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
AT&T
Visit AT&T
(2)
63 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 63 User submitted reviews >>

AT&T Internet Service Review by WhichVoIP.com

AT&T is one of the biggest brands in the world, known for their communications expertise, in particular phone service. AT&T now offers broadband Internet to homes in 22 states of the USA, this service is called U-verse. The technology behind this is fiber optic to your neighborhood through either Fiber to the Node (FTTN) or Fiber to the Premise (FTTP). From there DSL is used as the communication method of getting the signal into your home over your phone lines. Higher speeds can go over your phone lines with U-verse compared to traditional DSL because it travels a much shorter distance (traditional has to go all the way to the Central Office).

The Good

Various plans are offered based on speed. Higher speed plans have a higher monthly fee. This allows you to pick a speed plan that best suits your usage needs as well as your budget. Upload speeds are available up to 1Mbps and download speed plans are available from 3Mbps up to 45Mbps.

Various bundling options are available (including TV and phone service). By bundling services you typically get a reduced monthly rate.

A self installation kit is available on request. Professional installation is available and can take up to 4 hours, at a cost of $99 for standard installation. This is typically waived if you are bundling this service with TV service.

The supplied modem includes Wi-Fi wireless capabilities so you can connect your devices wirelessly at home. The modem allows up to 10 devices to be connected at any one time (includes wired connections also). It also includes a battery backup that can sustain service for several hours during a power cut.

Each Internet service plan includes access to the entire AT&T national Wi-Fi network of hot spots. A connection software app is available to download to your laptops, which scans for their Wi-Fi hot spots when you are on the go. This is not required to connect to their hot spots but helps improve the experience.

You also get up to 11 email accounts and virtually unlimited storage, POP access and spam guard. There are also other Yahoo! Services that are included (like Messenger, Chat, Music Launchcast, games etc.).

An Internet security suite is an option and includes anti-virus/spyware and other security protections. This suite is powered by McAfee.

The technical support line is available 24/7, with a customer service line also available Monday through Saturday during day time hours. A live chat option is available through their website, as well as a useful knowledgebase of setup, troubleshooting and help guides. Store locations can also be found on their website.

The Bad

U-verse Internet services are only currently available in 22 states of the USA, mainly in the mid-west, southeast, southern plains, Nevada, California, and Connecticut.

Installation will cost you $99 if you don't want to do a self install. This fee is typically waived if you bundle other services. An activation fee of $49 may also be required.

Plans are not unlimited and have a monthly data usage limit of 250GB. Exceeding this limit can lead to additional charges (currently $10/50GB). This is a decent amount of data usage but with movie/TV streaming becoming more popular the chances of reaching this become higher.

You could be subject to termination fees of up to $180 for early cancellation (new customers) as introductory pricing requires 1 year term.

The Wi-Fi hot spot connection software is not available for Macintosh users currently.

If you terminate your service you will need to send back any equipment provided to you by them, undamaged, within 21 days. After this they may charge you for the equipment.

The Bottom Line

The following AT&T U-verse plans are Internet only and all require a 1 year term minimum. Prices increase after the first year by $16.05/mo. Pricing noted is for new customers only.

  • Pro: Their lowest cost plan includes download speeds of up to 3Mbps for $29.95/mo for the first 12 months (then $46/mo after that).
  • Elite: Up to 6Mbps download speeds starting at $34.95/mo for the first 12 months (then $51/mo after that).
  • Max Plus: Up to 18Mbps download speeds for $44.95/mo for the first 12 months (then $61/mo after that).
  • Power: This is their highest speed plan with up to 45Mbps download speeds. This plan is $64.95/mo for the first 12 months (then $81/mo after that).

Overall Thoughts

If you live in one of the current 22 states that service is offered then this service is worth comparing with other options available. The best deals will be available through bundling with TV service. This will also save you on installation fees. You can also bundle in home phone service (VoIP), although we generally recommend going with a 3rd party provider due to cost savings.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Michael


AT&T Overview

In terms of customer reviews on our website, AT&T has not received great scores at all. Most reviews tend to focus on poor customer service which may be outsourced to countries outside the United States. In terms of the technology itself many reviewers complain of low broadband speeds and inconsistent service where sometimes it works fine but other times the speed drops significantly. If you have a comment to make please consider adding your review of AT&T U-verse using the "Write a Review" link below.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Total Number 63 1
Thumbs Up 3 2
Thumbs Down 59 10
Average Rating 2 37
More Providers 13

AT&T reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1)

#63 : MAY 2nd, 2016 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Unusable WiFi! Speed is ridiculously slow and disconnects CONSTANTLY. Don't dare to dream of trying to stream a movie, or even watch a short YouTube video - WiFi is so bad that you can't even do basic service. I had to log back into my Verizon hot spot to even be able to post this. Do NOT get this WiFi, seriously. I have had this for 5 days and I regret it immensely.

Overall rating (1.4)

#62 : JAN 21st, 2016 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I switched to AT&T/DirecTV on 09-01-15. It has been a nightmare. I only have 1 laptop and the Internet is constantly out. Have to reset router every other day it seems. I am 73, disabled and have a lifeline hookup to my phone. With the phone and Internet service on and off all the time it can be one scary situation. I had Comcast for over 15 years, and switched because AT&T promised me savings. Don`t sign with them, as soon as my 1 year period is up they are going bye bye and I am going back to Comcast. I do have to say I have no problems with TV service, only phone and Internet.

Overall rating (1)

#61 : JUN 10th, 2015 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

AT&T has cost me over $100,000 in lost revenues because they constantly accidentally turned off my Internet service then could not figure out how to turn it back on. Each time I called they made promises they never kept and each work order opened up a new account. I ended up with four parallel accounts. They would not allow me to talk to any managers for fear that they might be fired. I am seeking an attorney to sue them for my time, lost revenue, and undue hardship caused by their ineptness to do their job.

Overall rating (1.1)

#60 : MAY 30th, 2015 : (OH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

PRO: You are promised necessary credits to your account. CON: You are never given and the customer service is absolutely horrible. I've worked in customer service for 12 years and this was unreal. Either you can't understand them, they don't speak professionally and they lie to get you off of the phone. No deal they offer is worth being treated so horrible. Do not waste your money setting up service with them.

Overall rating (1.9)

#59 : MAY 25th, 2015 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I checked with AT&T for Internet and found all I could get in my area was a 3Mb. They swore up and down I could watch Netflix. Well you guessed it, not only could I not watch a movie it stopped a couple times a day. They sent techs out four times and finally I gave up and told them to take it out. So they sent me a prepaid mailer and I sent in the modem box. I called a week later and was told they received it and asked to make sure I got credit because I was being billed $160.00 for the box. Now 5 months later I have a $160.00 bill at the credit company! Don't use AT&T!

Overall rating (2.1)

#58 : MAR 10th, 2015 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The Internet connection is unreliable and very seldom lets you complete a task without losing connection. I'm unable to get on Facebook or play games online due to the terrible Internet connection or should I say "non-connection". You pay all this money to just end up frustrated, please tell me how that is fair?

Overall rating (2.6)

#57 : FEB 4th, 2015 : (OH)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The speed is horrible. They promise they are working on it and it's so fast but it's not. We were told we couldn't get fast internet because we live to far from one of their offices. We live less than a mile away. You couldn't play the XBOX and be on the computer at the same time. You couldn't connect your phone to the internet and use the computer or the xbox at the same time, everything would slow down or something would get kicked off. When I called to cancel it, it took so long because their computer systems were slow. The man I talked too kept telling me how sorry he was it was taking so long for his computer to update.

Overall rating (2)

#56 : MAY 9th, 2014 : (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

ATT is in the business of swindling subscribers. They cancel special discounts, discounts etc. from your service without notice. Their special deals is a devious bait for unwary customers to swallow and get fished out of all their monthly savings. They lobbied to monopolize areas so no one else can enter that zone to provide better service then them, so customers are stuck with swallowing their bait and emptying their wallets monthly. Can you imagine jumping your phone and internet bill from $14.99 to $55.00 in just 6 months? Watch your bills monthly, they stick in unexplained subscription rates, fees, taxes, saying they are all approved and can be passed onto the customer.

Overall rating (1.6)

#55 : JUL 31st, 2013 : (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

coustumer service is the worst! if you call to order cable, you get a person within 10 minutes at the longest. if you call to cancel your service, you will expect a 45minutes to an hour wait.. the calls and Harassment that follows after you cancel is horrible. You get an automated call and when you try to call back they don?t answer. You get an average of ten calls a day. They send the box to return the equipment to the wrong address three times. And up to now they still have the wrong address on file. I sent all the equipment back and now they claim they are missing stuff, omg. I had never had such a bad service in my life. Stay away from this crooks, no really stay far away from them. Six months after I moved and they are still looking for a box that I never got from them. I purchased the modem from Best Buy and they claim I got it from them.. What a bunch of characters these people are. I have another ticket for the internal investigation, I have to add to my collection of unresolved tickets..

Overall rating (2.4)

#54 : JUL 22nd, 2013 : (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

They forced me to go from DSL to Uverse DSL. Then kept selling DSL. Every time someone moves in or out of our apartments I'm guaranteed down time and even more time on the phone to tech support. I did figure out that as soon as my internet goes down to grab a baseball bat cause there is a tech lurking. Tech support is in another country and they patronize you to death. Demand to talk with Tear II technicians avoiding the first tech you get ahold of like you would a pile of dog poop. Avoid getting out any guns cause a baseball bat gets your point across.

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 63 1
Thumbs Up 3 2
Thumbs Down 59 10
Average Rating 2 37
More Providers 13

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
  • SHARE: