Norton trust seal
BBB logo

AT&T Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for AT&T Internet service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
AT&T 55 (2.1) 5%

AT&T Internet Service Overview

AT&T is one of the biggest brands in the world, known for their communications expertise, in particular phone service. AT&T now offers broadband Internet to homes throughout the U.S, this service is called U-verse. The technology behind this is fiber optic to your neighborhood through either Fiber to the Node (FTTN) or Fiber to the Premise (FTTP). From there DSL is used as the communication method of getting the signal into your home over your phone lines. Higher speeds can go over your phone lines with U-verse compared to traditional DSL because it travels such a short distance compared to traditional DSL which has to go all the way to the Central Office (CO). For U-verse, the fiber optics are used for the long path to the CO.

In terms of customer reviews on our website, AT&T has not received great scores at all. Most reviews tend to focus on poor customer service which may be outsourced to countries outside the United States. In terms of the technology itself many reviewers complain of low broadband speeds and inconsistent service where sometimes it works fine but other times the speed drops significantly. If you have a comment to make please consider adding your review of AT&T U-verse using the "Write a Review" link below.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 6)

AT&T Internet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.6)

#55 : JUL 31st, 2013 : Estelle (IL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

coustumer service is the worst! if you call to order cable, you get a person within 10 minutes at the longest. if you call to cancel your service, you will expect a 45minutes to an hour wait.. the calls and Harassment that follows after you cancel is horrible. You get an automated call and when you try to call back they don?t answer. You get an average of ten calls a day. They send the box to return the equipment to the wrong address three times. And up to now they still have the wrong address on file. I sent all the equipment back and now they claim they are missing stuff, omg. I had never had such a bad service in my life. Stay away from this crooks, no really stay far away from them. Six months after I moved and they are still looking for a box that I never got from them. I purchased the modem from Best Buy and they claim I got it from them.. What a bunch of characters these people are. I have another ticket for the internal investigation, I have to add to my collection of unresolved tickets..

Overall rating (2.4)

#54 : JUL 22nd, 2013 : Reggie (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • AT&T Uverse

They forced me to go from DSL to Uverse DSL. Then kept selling DSL. Every time someone moves in or out of our apartments I'm guaranteed down time and even more time on the phone to tech support. I did figure out that as soon as my internet goes down to grab a baseball bat cause there is a tech lurking. Tech support is in another country and they patronize you to death. Demand to talk with Tear II technicians avoiding the first tech you get ahold of like you would a pile of dog poop. Avoid getting out any guns cause a baseball bat gets your point across.

Overall rating (3.1)

#53 : JUL 12th, 2013 : Dario (WA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Other (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • IPhone

Just ok

Overall rating (2.3)

#52 : JUL 10th, 2013 : Shelley (MO)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Run, DON'T WALK as fast as you can away from anyone trying to sell you on Internet Only or Internet with Home Phone Service. Regardless of what amazing service AT&T Wireless provides, aT&T Internet is a hellacious journey only the completely stupid or someone who is lonely and wants constant phone calls to customer service and constant visits from service tech would want. After 3 months of complete hell on earth (and paying for two Internet lines I was unaware they had installed) I am free. To quote the great MLK... "FREE, FREE, FREE AT LAST"!!!!

Overall rating (2.3)

#51 : JUN 11th, 2013 : James (MI)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Overall rating (1.9)

#50 : JUN 7th, 2013 : Rick (GA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Netgear

as AT&T is the only internet option in our area we have no choice but to use them if we want to even have high speed occasionally...we pay for 3megs, normal speed is around 1.2 but sometimes goes as low as .02 which is pretty useless..at&t service changes their tune with each call, its your filter, you need a new filter, you don't need a filter at all, you only need a phone filter, you do not need a phone filter, etc..often times just to get connected I have to unplug the modem and wait for it to reset, drops the connection on a regular basis sometimes it comes back quickly sometimes not till the next day...they send service guys out but they can't find any problems, might clear up and work for a couple of days, might stay at a crappy .02 to .78 speed for a bit, but definitely if there is any other reliable source would not recommend at&t...

Overall rating (2.3)

#49 : MAY 2nd, 2013 : George (TN)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

I use my internet for mainly gaming and believe this internet connection is horrible. Its great when I have it though. I can't stay in a round longer than 7 minutes without loosing connection. AT&T is crazy thinking they can charge me as much as they are and they can't even provide me with a steady internet connection. Not only this but there are numerous steps I have to take, after turning on my PC, to just get the internet working in the first place. This is my 3rd time to go back to AT&T and every time they let me down big time. DO NOT GET

Overall rating (2.4)

#48 : MAR 27th, 2013 : Jason (OK)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • 7550

Slow speeds, horrible customer service (seems like nobody speaks english well) Reliability is a 2 out of 10 at best. Always have connection problems every week or so. I will be canceling my service as soon as I have the funds to switch back to cox....

Overall rating (2.9)

#47 : DEC 18th, 2012 : Ambrosio (TX)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

I decided to get AT&T U-verse because of their low prices. I now regret this. I have had AT&T U-Verse since December 5th. It is now December 18th and I cannot recall a period of three days in a row where I continuously had access to the internet. I regret ever making the call to use AT&T as an internet service provider. AT&T's customer service is fine. Its the countless hours spent on the phone or weekends I've spent having to stay home waiting for technicians to fix my connection problems on numerous occasions that angers me. AT&T's internet service is the worst I have ever experienced and I would go out of my way to discourage anyone close to me from using their services. Since signing up for U-verse, my roommates and I have had no choice but to go to the library every time we need internet access. I really dont know what I'm paying for. I am extremely dissatisfied with U-verse service but, I am also grateful that I realized how horrible of a provider AT&T is before almost letting my parents sign up for the same experience. I would not wish the amount of stress I have taken on as a result of using AT&T as my ISP on anyone. Don't let their low prices lure you into a contract!! It really isn't worth it.

Overall rating (2.4)

#46 : NOV 11th, 2012 : Steve (CA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Motorola NGV510

I had ATT DSL and regularly lost the Internet connection. I paid for DSL Elite and almost every evening the download speed dropped to less than 1MBps. Every time I called customer service they went through the same unplu and wait routine with most calls being in excess of 45 minutes with no success. Almost 1 year ago I switched to UVerse but alas, it drops off every evening. I am so very sick and tired of ATT and I wish I was able to get a different Internet connection service.

  • Page 1 of 6
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

AT&T Internet Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 55 1
Recommended: YES 3 2
Recommended: NO 51 9
Average Rating 2.1 34
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 9